Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Home, Sweet Home

After a marathon day of travel that involved:

-Trading in our planned morning of beignets and museums for a 5 AM trip to the New Orleans airport

-Snagging seats on an earlier flight in hopes of beating the snowstorm bearing down on the northeast corridor

-Getting stuck in Washington, D.C. for four hours because of ‘mechanical problems’ (which resulted in only one minor breakdown on my part – I consider that a success)

-Braving a prop plane from Dulles to the bustling hub that is the Allentown/Lehigh Valley Airport because all flights into Philadelphia were canceled

-Renting a four-wheel-drive behemoth of a car and inching our way home on the highways – thank goodness for my New Englander of a husband who knows how to drive through a blizzard…

…Brent and I finally made it back to Philly, just in time for a fantastic night hike through the snow with our dogs.

Whew!

Coming up tomorrow – part four of our New Orleans adventure.

For now, though?  It’s time for a morning of shoveling and an afternoon of snow-shoeing… with some laundry, writing, and rental car returning thrown in for good measure.

It’s good to be home!

6 responses to “Home, Sweet Home

  1. Kari w/ Jogging with Fiction December 27, 2010 at 9:28 am

    Wow! I can’t believe you guys travelled through this! It’s like Antarctica out there! I had to take a lovely hike through the snow this morning with my dog. She was not happy. Today, we’re camping out inside and working from home. Well, I’m working, she’s sleeping. Hope you guys have a good day!

    That Jets loss was terrible, my husband is still complaining about it.

  2. Laurie December 27, 2010 at 11:34 am

    We could have picked you up from the DC airport … we were at my parents’ about 30 minutes from there. Next time you get stuck in DC on your way home from New Orleans and I happen to be visiting my mom and dad, just call.
    I am jealous you get to play outside today 🙂 I am at work and it is insanely quiet. Maybe my boss will let me leave for a bit and go buy some snowshoes.

  3. Mallory December 27, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    The roads are much clearer but it’s still quite windy up here!! Definitely drive slow and have a safe trip!!

  4. Kari w/ Jogging with Fiction December 28, 2010 at 9:10 am

    Haha! We actually have no idea what Bungee is mixed with. We know she’s part lab, but that’s all. I think maybe for Mike’s birthday this year I’ll get one of those doggy DNA kits for him.

    I actually work in marketing, but my company is a data firm, so we’re all pretty savvy. Plus it really is a giant pain to do work on a teeny tiny laptop screen when you’re used to two monitors at work. Also, totally fun to annoy Mike by stealing the giant tv so he has to watch the “small” one.

  5. denise December 28, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    glad you made it home safely!! i always wish for snow storms at home while i’m on vacation so i’m forced to spend another night wherever i’m at!

Leave a Reply

