Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

The Itch…

I’ve come to embrace the fact that I’m woefully predictable.

Every time that I’ve taken a bit of time off from training – whether because of injury or “off-season” – I experience the same habits, the same quirks, the same eccentricities.

There’s the simultaneous fidgetiness and lethargy; the urge to practice yoga and embrace strength work; and the desire to cook soup and shop for boots and meet friends for drinks.

And then there’s the itch – the one that involves nine months off from serious training and a total reorientation of your world; the one that you know you’re not quite ready for but that, like clockwork, seems to creep up when you’re not running and biking six days a week.

Does anyone else ever have that feeling?  The one I’ve diagnosed as the If-I’m-already-not-training-then-why -not… Itch?

Maybe it’s just me…

Thank goodness the 2011 season commences in another couple weeks 🙂

5 responses to “The Itch…

  1. janae@hungryrunnergirl.com December 13, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    I know that itch all too well but I also am good at enjoying the downtime of soup, shopping, friends and strength training. Just glad you aren’t injured….then the itch sucks!

  2. Kari w/ Jogging with Fiction December 13, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    I think mine is more of an everyday itch. Like, why am I doing this (cleaning, watching tv, etc.) when I could be training?

  3. denise December 13, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    i’m feeling lost b/c i don’t have a schedule right now and i don’t even need one this week because it’s a rest week. i have to have something to follow and train for or i feel like a wreck!

  4. Mallory December 14, 2010 at 8:41 am

    I get that way sometimes. I like training. I like having a goal to work toward. I think that’s probably why I’ve always been registered for at least one race!

  5. Angela Kidd December 14, 2010 at 9:49 am

    Oh, I understand the itch. And it’s driving my freaking crazy right now. I’d almost rather be injured than trying to get pregnant. It’s not like you can tell your co-workers who are constantly asking what you are training for that you aren’t training because you are trying to get pregnant. Then there’s the flip side where I think well if I’m not training I might as well eat that entire chocolate cake or I might as well have two mochas today. I’ll deal with repurcussions when I start training again. It’s bad.

Leave a Reply

