Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

A Year of Adventure (giveaway!!)

The folks over at Lonely Planet have generously offered a copy of one of their hottest adventure travel books to one lucky person!

A Year of Adventure – now in its second printing – offers readers a combined travel companion and planning guide for the trip of a lifetime.

According to one reviewer:

The book is an unusual mix of practical and inspirational, with suggestions about discovering Corsica alongside a visit to the Minaret of Jam in Afghanistan… From swimming with dolphins to hiking, going on safari or seeing the northern lights, and even simply venturing further afield than normal, there’s an adventure for everyone.

So what are you waiting for?  It’s time to start planning your next adventure!

For a chance to win your own copy, leave a comment with your dream trip.

For a second entry, post this giveaway on your own blog and link back.

Entries close on Saturday at 11:59 PM.

12 responses to “A Year of Adventure (giveaway!!)

  1. Kari w/ Jogging with Fiction December 9, 2010 at 8:23 am

    I think my dream trip would probably be a trip to the mountains with my husband and dog. I don’t think I’d enjoy a vacation quite as much if my dog couldn’t come, so it’d have to be some kind of outdoor/athletic situation. Clearly I haven’t really thought this through all of the way.

  2. Mallory December 9, 2010 at 8:46 am

    My dream trip includes visiting all 5 islands of Hawaii. They each have different things to offer. First, I’d like to see the historical side of Oahu, visiting Pearl Harbor and experiencing a traditional luau. I’d like to do some hiking through the volcanoes and experience the nature side of Hawaii. I’d like to zipline through the forest, thousands of feet above ground. I want to try surfing on the North Shore. Even to catch one wave there would be absolutely amazing. I’d like to go snorkeling and kayaking as well, looking at the marine life below the water. I’d like to drink the Kona coffee right from the source. I want to experience all of the local foods and nightlife. I want a trip of a lifetime.

  3. denise December 9, 2010 at 9:57 am

    dream trip?? i never really thought about what that would be. i’m happy wherever you plunk me in the caribbean but would also love…wait, yea, i know what it is. i’ve been dying to do one of those trips where you live in the pod that is suspended between two trees. so cool!! i totally forgot about how badly i wanted to do that. time to go hassle andy…

  4. janae@hungryrunnergirl.com December 9, 2010 at 11:16 am

    AWESOME!! I would love to read that book. My ultimate destination is New Zealand.
    P.S. You teach college? That is so awesome!!

  5. Tricia December 9, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    My dream trip would be to Greece. Keep hinting to my hubs that I’d like to renew our vows there. Hmmm….maybe I need to leave them comment open on my computer

    🙂

  6. Laurie December 9, 2010 at 10:38 pm

    My dream vacation begins in about 7 hours when we depart for Costa Rica, also known as Honeymoon Part II. The first time around my husband broke his arm right before we got married so we didn’t get to do things involving the use of arms. So, this time around will hopefully have some surf lessons, kayaking, white water rafting and a bike ride or two.
    Because this trip will be over before I know it, I should probably keep dreaming — I would like to go to China for the Great Wall marathon, because nothing sounds more fun than running 26.2 miles along a giant wall. Or to Berlin for the Berlin marathon, because I’ve never been there and the course is supposedly flat. Or back to CR for La Ruta de los Conquistadores, although I would have to up my badass quotient by approximately 4,765% before even considering it.

  7. Erin December 10, 2010 at 6:54 am

    Cool giveaway! Thanks for letting me know. My dream trip is to hike the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu, then spend a night at the fancy resort at the very top. 🙂

    • Abby December 10, 2010 at 7:43 am

      I was supposed to hike the Inca Trail with my dad last summer! We got to Cuzco and thought everything was set, but the company we booked the trip with inadvertently got our permits for the week before, and it was a national holiday so they didn’t have time to petition the government for new ones. So, we substituted with incredible day hikes, and still got to experience Machu Picchu (though we stayed in the tourist-trap-of-a-town at the bottom, rather than the resort at the top 🙂

  8. Pingback: Filmic Friday « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

  9. Natalie December 10, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    My dream trip would involve a private jet or time travel. I would probably go to Hawaii.

  10. Julie (A Case of the Runs) December 10, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    My dream trip right now is going to Japan. Okay, so it’s mainly because they have a flat/downhill marathon there… 😉

    Thanks for the comment about my “misfit” post. I’m amazed that you have to deal with all that, and not just in an unspoken/anonymous way, either!

  11. Julie January 6, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    This is right up my alley!!! My dream trip would involve some hiking, some biking, some kayaking, lots of nature and beauty. I love adventure!!

Leave a Reply

