Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

And the Berkshires seemed dream-like on account of that frosting…

My apologies – for those who follow via google reader, I know that an old post showed up on your feed (like, really old – from almost two years ago).  There were some quirks with transferring everything over here to wordpress, but I’m not sure why that one popped up today.

—-

Angela’s account the other day of her Christmas tree exploits reminded me of a stop Brent and I made during our New England Road Trip of 2008 – to the Norman Rockwell Museum.

I’d always thought that Rockwell’s art was kind of cheesy American kitsch, but I loved hearing about the context of his paintings, the real life characters with which he interacted, and his lesser-known life as an activist.

Did you know that Officer Obie – the smalltown policeman from Arlo Guthrie’s Alice’s Restaurant (if you’re not listening to it every Thanksgiving at noon on NPR, you’re missing out!) – was actually William Obanhein of the Stockbridge, MA police department, and one of Rockwell’s favorite models?


I now have this painting hanging in my office:

And I use this one in all my classes:

We were at the museum in July, but apparently the best time of year to visit is December, when the Christmas Village is in full swing.

We’re not decorating for Christmas this year because we’ll be out of town around the holidays – in a few weeks we’re heading to New Orleans for the beginning of winter break, and at the end of the month we’ll be in New England to spend New Years with Brent’s family.

While we’re up there, we have plans to knock out Mount Greylock, Massachusetts’ highest peak, and I just discovered that Greylock is less than an hour from Rockwell’s hometown of Stockbridge (also home to Sweet Baby James Taylor).

I told Brent that a stop is definitely in order.  If we can’t have a tree of our own, the next best thing is a Norman Rockwell Christmas, right?

One response to “And the Berkshires seemed dream-like on account of that frosting…

  1. Angeal Kidd December 1, 2010 at 11:17 am

    I’ve never seen the second one before. I’d love to go that museum sometime around Christmas. Will have to add it to the bucket list!

Leave a Reply

