Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Bottoms Up?

An admission:

I’m not a big drinker.  In fact, I could probably count on one hand the number of alcoholic beverages I’ve had over the past few months – not because I consciously try to avoid it, but because I tend not to think to drink it.

A realization:

For no reason in particular, I was thinking about this the other day, and realized that most of those drinks that I can count on one hand were consumed the night before a long run.  Nothing major – just a beer or cider or glass of wine on a Saturday evening before a long run the following morning.  But those post-drink long runs were the best long runs I had in preparing for Philly.

I felt great during those 10 and 14 and 18 and 20 milers.  And I felt pretty crummy on the long runs that weren’t preceded with that drink.

A question:

I’m not sure what to make of this.  It may be totally unconnected.  It may be that those long runs felt good because I was relaxed enough the day before to be out and enjoying a drink.  It may be that a glass of liquid carbs actually does a body good.

I have no idea.

So, with the marathon fast approaching and me hoping that I have a good ‘long run’ that day, I ask –

What do you think?  Any connection?

And more importantly, should I have a drink on Saturday night?

7 responses to “Bottoms Up?

  1. Val November 17, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    Absolutely! Drinking alcohol is hands-down an integral part of training!

  2. Abby November 18, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    I'd say do it!!!Clearly it works!

  3. Johann November 18, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    If it works for you, go for it!

  4. RunningLaur November 18, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    If it's worked in training, keep it up for the race. Good luck!

  5. Angela and David November 18, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    If it works, go with it. It probably helps you sleep a little better and it may be providing you with nutrients your body is otherwise lacking.

  6. Denise November 18, 2010 at 4:57 pm

    i drink the night after a long run, that's my splurge and fun night. i tend to feel the effects of a drink rather easily so i steer clear the night before. but i see no problem with it, esp if you don't feel the effects. do you think it might just help you sleep a little better and that's why you feel so good the day after on the run?i'm heading to the expo tmrw, right when they open. i'm so nervous for sunday. how are you feeling? why am i asking you this through comments…i'll just email you!

  7. Laurie November 19, 2010 at 5:37 am

    This post makes me laugh. I am a recent convert to drinking before a race. — The night before The Edge I was at a Phillies game. Thought I'd only have a beer, ended up having beeerrrsss. Felt great throughout the entire race (although I felt terrible afterward). Beer is good for you. Wine is even better. Go for it.

Leave a Reply

