Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

A Day of Thanks

According to Mark Remy of Runner’s World Daily, today is National Married-to-a-Runner-Appreciation Day.

I’m not feeling much like a runner these days (though I did get out for a fantastic 20 miler with marathoner extraordinaire Denise on Saturday), and I happen to have a husband who is just as involved in all this endurance craziness as I am (if not moreso).  I like to think that we’ve gotten pretty good at appreciating and supporting each other through the long months of training and long hours (and days) of racing.

But I have vivid memories of the early months of our relationship, when I had just begun training for my first marathon and Brent was discovering the local world of adventure racing.

He asked if I wanted him to come to Anchorage to cheer me on at the Mayor’s Midnight Sun Marathon (I told him not to).

I packed him a brown bag lunch for his second AR (he didn’t eat it).

We’ve come a long way since then.

So here’s to all the supportive partners – our running shoes (and tri shorts and UTM plotters) are off to you!

13 responses to “A Day of Thanks

  1. Amanda - RunToTheFinish October 25, 2010 at 9:00 am

    oh i haven't seen the article you mentioned?? Does it totally look like I ripped someone off, hope not

  2. Amanda - RunToTheFinish October 25, 2010 at 9:01 am

    you finally met Denise, YEAH!!!! So i was thinking we should find a relay race up your way that we could do. i see a ragnar in NH next fall

  3. ShutUpandRun October 25, 2010 at 9:40 am

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I love that you say you havent' been running much but went out for a 20 miler. You must have quite the fitness, girl!!!

  4. Johann October 25, 2010 at 10:16 am

    Lovely idea, I think it should be international though. Have a great week!

  5. Denise October 25, 2010 at 11:04 am

    i loved that article! posted it on facebook for all the other runners to see. i told andy he gets a hug today. 😉

  6. James October 25, 2010 at 11:50 am

    I'm glad I found your post. I didn't know today was he married-to-a-runner day. My wife is an excellent support of my running and without her, I may have stopped running by now!

  7. Nobel4Lit October 25, 2010 at 11:53 am

    Thanks to all those who support us runners!My boyfriend is also a runner, so we go out of the way to support each other. =) It doesn't need to be that way, but I'm glad that it is!

  8. Black Knight October 28, 2010 at 5:34 am

    Great article. My best running day was the first workout with my wife.The second? The first race with my son.

  9. I Run for Fun October 30, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    See, your standards are different. Waking up any given morning and being able to run a 20-miler means you are in GREAT running shape. Here's to the 2 of you…great partners indeed.

  10. Staci Dombroski November 1, 2010 at 8:48 am

    I love to hear about all of your adventures! Have a great week 😉

  11. X-Country2 November 3, 2010 at 11:23 am

    Great article! Hugs all around.

  12. I Run for Fun November 5, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    Love your profile pic! I work in Summit, which is not far from Union. It's a beautiful place to run too. I'd LOVE to meet for a run!!! My email is kavi1874@yahoo.com. Let's chat on what makes sense for us, based on schedules.

Leave a Reply

