Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

One More For The Road

If a race begins at 1:00 AM, how do you fuel the day leading up to it so as to ensure that your stomach doesn’t revolt at the start?

Such is the question I’m contemplating this afternoon as I begin to pack for “The Shag,” a 16-hour extravaganza kicking off late Friday night (or, rather, early Saturday morning).

Because of scheduling conflicts, I won’t be racing at Nationals next month, so the Shag will be my last adventure race of the year, capping off what, overall, has felt like an incredibly satisfying and rewarding 2010 season.

With my teammates by my side, I conquered alligators in March, sleep monsters in June, and three-day-old cheese sandwiches in August – and along the way experienced new levels of comfort in the woods, new levels of familiarity with the sport, and new levels of appreciation and awe for what we get to do out there.

And after all that, at what should feel like a reasonably comfortable distance in a reasonably familiar region, I’m still left perplexed by how to prepare for the 1:00 AM start.

That’s what you have to love about adventure racing – as soon as you start feeling like you’re gaining some experience, they throw you a new curve ball!

4 responses to “One More For The Road

  1. Angela and David September 22, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    I have no clue how to prepare for a 1 a.m. start but I just have to say – you do the coolest stuff. Good luck!

  2. Denise September 23, 2010 at 11:29 am

    eesh, i know my stomach would NOT like a 1am start time! good luck though!!oh, i really liked the new course. honestly, it wasn't that different. just different order. i also loved the hill at the end, fun pushing up that to cross the finish line. how's training going?

  3. I Run for Fun September 23, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    1 AM??? No way! That is insane!

  4. Jill September 24, 2010 at 12:48 am

    I have no idea how you prep for a 1am race, and a race at that caliber…but GOOD LUCK!! I know you will do great. And have a blast, too :).

Leave a Reply

