Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

By the numbers…

It is now 9:00 PM on Sunday evening.  The 2010 Untamed New England officially ended eleven hours ago, and Brent and I are about to enjoy our first full night of sleep since Wednesday (or Tuesday, in my case, but that’s a story for another day).

I will write a full race report in short order, but first, a brief summary…

70.5 – the number of hours between the official start of the race and the official finish time.

43 – the number of teams that lined up at the start.

32 – the number of teams that officially passed through the finish.

22 – the rough estimate my teammates and I made about our projected finishing place at the start of the race (we saw ourselves as a solid mid-pack team).

70 – the approximate number of pounds I carried around my neck during a several-mile canoe and kayak portage through the woods.  I told my teammates that I was pretty sure I’d lost a few inches in height by the end of that trek.

40 – our standing at the end of the first section, following some frustrating mechanical issues and general struggles in finding our rhythm.

51 – the number of hours before we saw our personal food-and-gear bins on the course.  We had anticipated coming to them roughly 36 hours after the race began.

1 – the number of no-doze tablets I took during the race.  I had planned to take a second – and chase it with diet mountain dew – but never ended up needing it.  I did down 4 Aleve’s.

200 – the number of calories I attempted to eat each hour for the 63 hours we spent on course.

3 – the number of days my cheese sandwich sat in my bin before I ate it on Saturday night.  Perhaps not the smartest idea.

18 – the number of iodine tablets I used during the race to purify stream water.

1 – the number of cans of Trader Joe’s artichoke hearts that I ate during the race.  Greatest idea ever.

0 – the number of moose that I saw (argh…).

3 – the number of times Trail Mail was delivered – at roughly 24-hour intervals.  Thank you so much for taking the time to say hello!  I LOVED all your notes of encouragement and good cheer.  (And Jim, I didn’t bring dental floss out on the course – but I think I’ll add that to the list for next time!  You never know when it might come in handy… Maybe to MacGyver a set of broken portage wheels?) 

1:49 AM – the time we crossed the finishing line on Sunday morning.

480 – the number of minutes in times credits we received after venturing out on the optional orienteering course at the end of the race.

5:49 PM (Saturday) – our official finish time.

22 – our official finishing place.

425 – the number of miles Brent and I are from home right now – a distance that feels far more ominous that anything the past three days brought.

5 – the number of days (at least) before I will consider putting real shoes on my feet again.

4 responses to “By the numbers…

  1. RunningLaur August 16, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    Congrats on the finish, and enjoy the rest you definitely earned!

  2. Denise August 16, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    oooh, the cheese sandwich sounds scary. rest up!!

  3. Angela and David August 18, 2010 at 10:35 am

    Amazing! With all that sleep deprivation you guys are certainly well trained to have some kids. And nice job predicting your finish place.

  4. Pingback: The 2011 Longest Day: Epicness Abounds « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Leave a Reply

