Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Redefining Tired

In the days after the Cradle of Liberty two weeks ago, I found myself itching for another challenge.

Enter Kathy, of Team ARMD (Adventure Racing Maryland).

ARMD and GOALS are frequent competitors on the race course, and I had been chatting with a few of the ARMD folks earlier this year about the prospect of putting together a collaborative GOALS-ARMD team for this summer’s Untamed New England.

The efforts had stalled several weeks ago and I assumed that the opportunity had passed.  But then, last Tuesday, Kathy sent me an email, asking whether we’d ever nailed down a full team lineup.  

I wrote back immediately and enthusiastically, and eight days later, we are now officially set to take on the wiles of New Hampshire (and perhaps Vermont, Maine, and Canada as well) for three days of non-stop adventure this August.

That’s right – 72 hours of racing, totally self-supported, with only our trusty maps and compasses to guide us.

I’m a little bit in awe of this latest challenge, but can’t wait to take it on, and to tackle it with three spectacular new teammates.

56 days and counting to the start of the race – 59 days until we finish…

6 responses to “Redefining Tired

  1. Nobel4Lit June 16, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    Without a Garmin there's always the good old time/distance estimation. It will be a mental unload…

  2. Denise June 17, 2010 at 7:24 am

    crazy!!! you'll have to tell me about a nice easy one of these to start with…i'd love to try one.

  3. Amanda - RunToTheFinish June 17, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    ok, so now I realize no more whining about a measly marathon which should be finished in about 4 hours

  4. I Run for Fun June 17, 2010 at 4:22 pm

    Wow! Abby, this is crazy! I can't wait to hear more. I am sure you will rock this, but it gives me the shivers, just reading about it. I am sure it will take you to a whole new level.

  5. Kim June 19, 2010 at 6:58 am

    You amaze me. So above and beyond anything I could ever dream of! Sounds like a blast!

  6. Rebecca DeWire June 22, 2010 at 10:05 am

    I just found your blog and think it is so cool that you do adventure races. I have always been interested in trying one. I also noticed that we live close to each other (I live in the Philly suburbs near Valley Forge in Audubon).

Leave a Reply

