Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

An Ode to My Adventurer

On February 3, 2006, Brent and I had our first date.

On February 4, 2006, I sent a text message to a friend: “Sar, I’m going to marry this kid.”

On February 7, 2006, Brent asked me how long he should wait to propose.

And on October 14, 2006, he did.

Brent and I got married the following Memorial Day, in 90 degree heat and 100% humidity, on the third floor of an un-airconditioned converted factory in Philadelphia. And loved every minute of it.

Just before the ceremony. And probably the last time I saw Brent clean-shaven.

Today marks our third anniversary.

Four days before our first date, I sent my then-friend a list of the reasons why I had a crush on him. A year and a half ago, just before the third anniversary of said first date, I made another list, this one detailing how grateful I was to have Brent in my life. (You can read both the original list and the follow-up list here.)

And today, in honor of the start of our fourth year of marriage, I’ve made a new list of gratitudes, one I like to call, An Ode to My Adventurer.

1. I’m grateful that he’s shown me the wonders of living out of a backpack…

30th Street Station in Philadelphia, at the start of a month of backpacking in Italy

2. …and that he goes back to rescue said pack after telling me to leave it behind on particularly harrowing stretches of trail.

Italy’s Dolomites mountain range – after following some bad advice from our less-than-trusty guidebook

3. I’m grateful for his playful spirit…

Humoring me on a Sound of Music bike tour in Salzburg, Austria – Do Re Mi

4. …and his competitive drive.

The start of the Krista Griesacker 12-hour adventure race in Hamburg, PA

5. I’m grateful that he stops along the trail to pick blueberries…
Northern Massachusetts or Southern New Hampshire, along the Metacomet-Monadnock Trail

6. …but always keeps going until we get to the top.

The summit of the Zugspitze, the highest peak in Germany

7. I’m grateful for his keen eye for photography…

The Dolomites just after sunrise

8. …and his unparalleled skill at the five-second-delay self portrait.

About a mile from the Zugspitze summit

9. I’m grateful that he always knows where we’re going…

Studying the maps before the start of the Untamed New England 72-hour adventure race

10. …even if that includes hitchhiking across a river.

The Connecticut River on the M-M Trail – note the boat that gave us a ride

11. I’m grateful that he smiles when a tornado blows down our tent…

The Falcon Ridge Folk Festival in Hillsdale, New York

12. …and laughs when we find ourselves camping on a bathroom floor.

An alpine hut (rifugio) in the Dolomites… we failed to reserve a room ahead of time

13. I’m grateful for three years of adventuring together…



14. …and all the adventures still to come.
12 responses to “An Ode to My Adventurer

  1. Denise May 27, 2010 at 7:01 am

    Abby, that was so sweet. you two really do make the perfect pair!! happy anniversary and here's to many, many more!!!

  2. Staci Dombroski May 27, 2010 at 7:53 am

    That is about the sweetest post ever!!! Happy Anniversary 🙂

  3. Nobel4Lit May 27, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    Way to pack in many years of adventure into just 3! =)

  4. MCM Mama May 27, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    Happy anniversary! You guys seem perfectly matched!

  5. celmore May 27, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    Happy Anniversary!!!

  6. Heather McD (Heather Eats Almond Butter) May 27, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Happy Anniversary. You two are precious and so adventurous. Oh my gosh, loved seeing all the pics, especially of the Dolomites. Brings back such fond memories. 🙂

  7. fancythatfancythis.com May 27, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    This is a very sweet post! You guys are perfect for each other.And I love the name of your blog! Very cute about the dental floss!

  8. Angela and David Kidd May 28, 2010 at 9:54 am

    You guys are adorable! And have done such amazing things. Is he sprinting at the start of a 12 hour race?

  9. joyRuN May 28, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    Very sweet, and very very awesome!Happy Anniversary 😀

  10. X-Country2 May 29, 2010 at 10:05 am

    Awwww, what a wonderful post. You two seem PERFECT for each other.

  11. N.D. May 30, 2010 at 8:16 am

    happy anniversary!

  12. Amanda May 30, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    Oh this is the best post ever, you guys are adorable and I love how you can see your spirit and love in the pics and in your words. Happy Anniversary!

Leave a Reply

