Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

All our best to Rich and Lisa

A couple years back, a friend of a friend graduated from rabbinical school. To celebrate, she hosted a party, where the star of the show was a giant bowl of personalized green m&m’s, introducing her as “Rabbi Rachel.”
When I heard about this, just as I was starting my dissertation, I told my friend that the promise of personalized m&m’s was reason enough to finish graduate school.
As the months passed and the dissertation began to take shape, my “Dr. Esq.” chocolates became a running joke, and when my mom mentioned both the graduation party and the m&m’s right before my defense a couple weeks ago, I knew it was time to place the order.
I submitted the design the day after I defended – a mix of red and white (the colors of my now-alma mater) with alternating doctors and esquires – and the box arrived a few days later.
I left it on the kitchen counter as I cooked dinner that night, and when Brent came home, I mentioned that he should check them out.
He opened the cardboard box to reveal an interior inflated plastic container, and when he got through that, he paused.
“Um, did you end up deciding on a different color scheme?”
I looked up, confused.
He pulled out one of the bags to inspect them more closely, and immediately started laughing.
Inside the box were three pounds of chocolate belonging to Rich and Lisa, who appear to be getting married on July 3, 2010 and apparently have a penchant for easter-egg colors.


I called the folks over at m&m to report the mix-up. They promptly re-shipped our order, free of charge, and told us to keep Rich and Lisa’s candy for our troubles. “No troubles on our end,” I said to the woman on the other end. “I just hope Rich and Lisa don’t mind red and white!”
8 responses to “All our best to Rich and Lisa

  1. Staci Dombroski May 20, 2010 at 1:29 pm

    That is such a great story!!! Love the M&M's 🙂

  2. MCM Mama May 20, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    Hilarious! Enjoy the extra M&Ms!

  3. Denise May 21, 2010 at 11:34 am

    woo hoo!! free candy!!

  4. Angela and David Kidd May 21, 2010 at 1:27 pm

    That's too funny. We got personalized M&M's for our wedding. I ended up doing like a puzzle with a thank you message on the M&M's. I'm not sure how many people ate them slowly enough to figure that out. Congratulations Dr. Esq.

  5. The Happy Runner May 21, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    Enjoy your pastel bounty!Hope your bum is feeling better, too.

  6. N.D. May 22, 2010 at 11:36 am

    I love the m and m's you picked, very cool.

  7. X-Country2 May 24, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    HAHA! And free candy on top of it. Win-win!

  8. THE ACTORS DIET May 25, 2010 at 11:50 am

    i love the idea of personalized m and m's! great that you got some extra too

Leave a Reply

