Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Holy Roller

Tonight, Brent and I headed out for a hot date – to our local Dick’s Sporting Goods. We meandered around, watched frazzled parents and their frazzling kids, checked out the new Phillies t-shirts, and ultimately came home with this:
After a nutty week, we were both looking forward to a quiet evening, so we loaded up the last few of episodes of Lost on the computer, hooked it up to the television, and took turns taking our new purchase out for a test drive.

And all I can say is, Holy Hell.

The foam roller must have been doing its job, because I have never felt pain like that before in my life.


This woman is sort of smiling. I was not.

It didn’t hurt so much on my quads and hamstrings, but when I got to my IT bands, I was nearly brought to tears. It seemed innocuous enough – all you do is guide your leg over the foam. But clearly that thing has some sort of magic in it, because I could barely make it through one roll without yelping.

“It’s like a massage,” said Brent, laughing. “A massage on steroids.”

I put myself through five minutes of the torture. The pain never eased, but I figure, if it hurts that much, it must be doing something productive.

I can’t wait for another session tomorrow.
9 responses to “Holy Roller

  1. RunningLaur May 9, 2010 at 5:21 pm

    The blessing and the curse of owning your own foam roller… Hope it treats your legs well, and you'll be in a great place for next weekend!

  2. Denise May 10, 2010 at 10:57 am

    heh! the first time i used the roller for my IT i literally had tears running down my face. but it works wonders!

  3. THE ACTORS DIET May 10, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    i've used a foam roller once – for like 5 seconds. OUCH!

  4. The Happy Runner May 10, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    Oh, I'm addicted to my foam roller. Love it. Hope it works well for you.

  5. N.D. May 11, 2010 at 7:38 am

    wow I haven't tried it – that's great it seems to be working!

  6. Angela and David Kidd May 11, 2010 at 9:14 am

    It does get easier over time on the IT band. This post reminds me I need to use that thing more often.

  7. I Run for Fun May 11, 2010 at 1:33 pm

    Ouchie! I need to get one. Because we love to inflict pain on ourselves!

  8. Amanda - RunToTheFinish May 12, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    i'm trying so desperately to use it…but AGGHHHH somedays it just hurts too much. Ok so your toolbox of goodies for triathlons and such would take over my condo!

  9. X-Country2 May 15, 2010 at 11:22 am

    I've only done the tennis balls, but yeah, it hurts so good!

Leave a Reply

