Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Lining up at the Start

So I’m running a marathon next weekend.

I signed up several weeks ago, as a sort of graduation present to myself, but haven’t really talked about it much. It’s not that it’s slipped my mind, nor that I’m not taking it seriously. I just haven’t been totally sure what to make of it.
Partly, I wanted to wait to really make it official until the prospect of graduating felt more real (which, after successfully defending my dissertation this morning, it does!). And partly, I haven’t quite figured out what my goals are for the race.
I’m looking forward to meeting Lauren, who’s taking on her first marathon that day. I’m looking forward to – after three years of happily running marathons with friends (all of which I’ve loved) – seeing for the first time what I can do on my own. I’m looking forward to finding out what my legs have in them after one ultra and three adventure races in the past two months.
I haven’t been training specifically for the marathon. But I’ve gotten in several long runs, ranging from 18 to 31.4 miles, over the last few months. I’ve logged most of those miles on trails. But I’ve tried to get in a bit of speed work each week, and I feel pretty good about my pace.
So, who knows?
Maybe I’ll go out hard and see what I can do.
Maybe I’ll take it easy, enjoy the course, and use it as a training run for the 18-hour adventure race that starts at midnight the following Saturday morning.
Maybe I’ll make friends.
Maybe I’ll turn up my head phones and jam out to whatever new playlist I come up with (suggestions welcomed! I realized recently that I haven’t updated my ipod since ironman training in 2008).
Whatever comes, I’m looking forward to lining up at the start. That’s about all I know right now.
9 responses to “Lining up at the Start

  1. THE ACTORS DIET May 6, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    i haven't done it in a long time, but i love running to metric's "combat baby!"

  2. I Run for Fun May 6, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    Go Abby!!! I am so excited for you. Will be rooting for you. You are more than ready to rock this race. Looks like a great race…the breakfast sounds delicious!

  3. RunningLaur May 7, 2010 at 10:15 am

    Can't wait to meet you! The whole set up of the race sounds like it should be a great opportunity to see what you can do. (My guess is you can do super-awesome-kick-butt running 🙂 )

  4. Staci Dombroski May 7, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    Have a great time!! Good luck 🙂 I can't wait to hear about it.

  5. Angela and David Kidd May 7, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    Awesome. Good luck! And nothing like a recovery week capped off with an 18 hour race. You are hard core.

  6. Denise May 8, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    i'll be thinking of you while i'm running DE. good luck!!

  7. MCM Mama May 10, 2010 at 7:48 am

    Awesome! Thanks for stopping by my blog. Hopefully we'll run into each other at packet pick up or the start line. Enjoy the race!

Leave a Reply

