Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Taking Hardcore to the Next Level

I’m supposed to be in Syracuse, New York right now, getting set for the start of this weekend’s two-day snow-shoeing race. But stuff came up and I decided to stay in Philly, so instead of sitting in that hotel room up north with Brent and Ali, I’m at home watching delayed coverage of the olympic slalom.
Earlier this week, Brent and I were discussing which olympic athletes were the most hardcore. The ski jumpers, maybe? Or perhaps the skeleton racers?
Eventually, of course, the conversation turned to adventure racing. While adventure racing will likely never become an olympic sport, its competitors may be in a league of their own in terms of hardcore-ness.
They stay awake for days on end.
They run on bruised and battered and blistered feet.
They pull blood-sucking leeches off their eyelids and traverse crocodile-infested waters.
One of my personal favorite instances of AR-hardcoreness – at the 2008 adventure racing national championships, a woman who had given birth just a few months earlier competed in the 24-hour event with a breast pump in her pack.
As a relative newbie to the sport, I haven’t really tested my own hardcoreness. But even as I just begin to push my limits, I can confidently say that almost all of the adventure racers that I know could give the ski jumpers a run for their money…
10 responses to “Taking Hardcore to the Next Level

  1. Denise February 27, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    I think this is more of an olympic sport than some of the events currently in the games!

  2. Gus February 27, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    I'm surprised that the large sports' sponsors are lining up at your door because we all know that all your adventure racing friends train more, with more focus, and for longer periods of time than any olympic ski jumper. And the combined ski jumpers/cross country races, what wimps.

  3. N.D. February 27, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    fun thoughts … so did you miss the race or did you join them today? hope it went well!

  4. Bess February 27, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    I don't know, curling is pretty hardcore. 😉

  5. X-Country2 February 28, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    Compared to nobody, I think you're dang hardcore!

  6. Angela and David Kidd March 1, 2010 at 9:32 am

    I'm not sure the olympics want to be associated with a sport where removing leeches from your eyelids is common. Probably not good for TV.And I don't know, some of those crashes those skiers routinely endure – looks pretty hardcore to me. But then again, I don't even like to be cold so it doesn't take much for me to be impressed. I think your 20 miles on the treadmill clearly makes you "hardcore."

  7. Amanda March 1, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    I think adventure racing sounds extrememly hardcore…leeches..wow!

  8. I Run for Fun March 1, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    Wow! I happen to think you are really hardcore. Adventure racing is really something else!

  9. Staci Dombroski March 3, 2010 at 10:43 am

    WOW! That looks like an interesting experience 🙂

  10. Jill March 5, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    A 2-day anything, especially snowshoeing is very hardcore! 🙂 Adventure racing would be a lot more interesting than curling or ice dancing as it's just more a "Sport" than those. Would be great to see that in the Olympics, but you're right…probably never will.Have a great weekend!!!

Leave a Reply

