Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Wardrobe Malfunctions

This past week, Philadelphia got more than 40 inches of snow – about two and a half times our annual average in the span of five days.

I like snow. Really, I do.
I like shoveling, and love being outside when everybody comes out at the same time to dig out their cars. I like canceled classes. I like icicles. I like sledding and snow-shoeing. I like traipsing through the woods with the dogs. I like afternoon movie dates and scrabble rematches and cranium marathons. I like full mugs of hot chocolate and big bowls of steaming soup and snowed-in breakfast-for-dinner dates with neighborhood friends.
I even liked my first attempt at cross-country skiing, at least when I wasn’t face-down in a pile of plowed snow on the side of the road.
But of course, there’s a flipside to every coin, and if I’m writing a post about all the snow-filled wonderment, there must be some negatives, right?
Indeed.
And I can sum it up in one word: LAUNDRY.
Three feet of snow means long underwear. It means layers. It means wet jeans, and multiple pairs of socks. Every time you go outside, you need something different.
Digging out the car? Warm gloves. Two pairs. Lots of shirts of varying thickness. Shirts that get thrown into the snow one by one with each shovel-ful.
Taking the dogs to the woods? More gloves. Jeans. Thick socks. High school-era Doc Martins that hide in the back of your closet for exactly such occasions. Gaitors. Sweatshirt. Montbell.
Snow-shoeing, or skiing? More gaitors. Tights. Rain pants. Fleece. More fleece. And have I mentioned the gloves?
Plus there’s the shorts and t-shirts for the treadmill, the flannel pants for lounging around, and the extra jeans and sweatshirts on hand in the event of spilled hot chocolate, soup, or pancake batter (you have to plan for such contingencies when you’re a bit of a klutz, after all)…
And that’s just one day…
6 responses to “Wardrobe Malfunctions

  1. Jill February 16, 2010 at 12:18 am

    I hear ya on both the good and the bad of all the snow. My kids go outside in it and it takes like 20 minutes to get all their gear on, go outside for a half hour then 20 minutes to get it off, into the dryer for 20 minutes to dry. x8. It's exhausting!!!

  2. Denise February 16, 2010 at 8:41 am

    i love the snow, too! it's also making me realize how smart of an idea it was to tile our entry way instead of doing hardwood…

  3. I Run for Fun February 16, 2010 at 10:01 am

    I hear ya! I love the seasons, but not doing 3 times as much laundry as I do the rest of the year. And it's SNOWING AGAIN TODAY!

  4. RunningLaur February 16, 2010 at 10:16 am

    Glad you're able to enjoy the snowy wonderland! It took me a good 2 days of thinking what to wear to the high country before remembering that people regularly wear coats is such situations. Amazing how quickly lifestyles can change.

  5. NY Wolve February 17, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    I am really, really sick of the snow. The shoveling I am over, the slipping and falling I am over that too. I am glad you see the good. But we just got 5 inches yesterday — after a foot over the weekend! I am ready for spring.I am glad you take joy in it though!

  6. Angela and David Kidd February 17, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    I was just thinking this morning when I was folding laundry about how nice it would be to live somewhere warmer where so much clothing wasn't necessary for survival.

Leave a Reply

