Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Godot

I’ve been a terrible blogger as of late (and by ‘as of late’ I mean for the past several months, since last race of 2009, on November 22).

I just don’t seem to have much to say.

I could write about running the loop last weekend with Ali and Bess and Brent, and besting our previous time by 17 minutes.
I could write about the thirteen miles I ran yesterday – a rather dull (save for the company) 8 on the treadmill, followed by a much more fun 5 outside to commemorate the anniversary of a friend’s cancer diagnosis – and my utter inability to warm up for the rest of the day.
I could write about the 80 miles I biked this past week as I indulged in my latest netflix discovery in the realm of terrible teeny-bopper television: Gossip Girl (oh the shame…).
I could write about how my husband beat me at scrabble for the second time this week (even my 67-point word – QUASH – wasn’t enough to take him…).
I could write about my thoughts on tonight’s Grammy awards… if I had watched them.
But none of these things is all that exciting, when it comes down to it.
Which is sort of par for the course these days.
In the post-dissertation haze and the pre-graduation lag, I’m spending a lot of my time right now waiting.
Waiting on news of jobs.
Waiting to get final comments from my committee and schedule my defense.
Waiting for my post-graduate school world to start.
Waiting for something that I can’t quite put my finger on.
It’s not necessarily bad, this waiting. It’s probably a good thing for someone like me to experience now and then. In the meantime, I’m spending my time running and biking, cleaning out boxes and reorganizing closets, catching up with friends, and reading non-dissertation-related books.
And I’m learning. Learning how to find comfort in the limbo, to create stability in the uncertainty. Learning how to just be.
Some days I’m better at it than others.
7 responses to “Godot

  1. Denise February 1, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    sometimes there's just not much to say. but it sounds like you've been keeping busy. enjoy the waiting and try to get some rest and relaxation!

  2. The Happy Runner February 1, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    Limbo is a tough place to be. Glad you're finding some comfort in it.Nice work on the loop, btw!

  3. Angela and David Kidd February 2, 2010 at 11:00 am

    Ahhh, Gossip Girl is great trainer fare. Enjoy the limbo!

  4. X-Country2 February 2, 2010 at 6:38 pm

    A boring good life is still a pretty good life. :o)

  5. I Run for Fun February 3, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    Learning to handle the spaces is just as tough as learning to handle a stressful life. Hang in there!

  6. Kim February 6, 2010 at 10:28 am

    I hear ya…I too, haven't had much to say. And it's neither good or bad…it just is.You have a lot going on…and just as Densie said…try some rest and relaxation as well.

  7. ali February 9, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    Ditto… just ditto.

Leave a Reply

