Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

The Year of the Bike

I’m still not entirely sure what 2010 will bring on the racing front (or, come to think of it, the school front, or the job front, or the geographic front… but those are all matters for another post).  I have a rough schedule in my head, made up of a couple sprint adventure races, a few 24-hour adventure races, a 12-hour adventure race or two, some other random foot races, and perhaps a marathon, depending on various wheres and whens and whatnots.

But two things are certain: barring injury, I will be lining up at the starting lines of the Bel Monte Endurance 50-mile ultra in March and the 72-hour Untamed New England adventure race in August.
Though I have no idea how my body will handle the ultra, I feel like I have a pretty good sense of how to train for it.  Bess and I have come up with what seems like a reasonable schedule, kicking off January 13 and taking us right to the March 27 race.  
The three-day adventure race brings a whole different set of unknowns for me.  How do you fuel for 72 continuous hours of activity, for example.  How will my body handle little to no sleep?  What kinds of new gear will I need to get?  Should I get in some practice white water runs down the Esopus Creek
One thing I do know, though – the more time I spend on my bike, the better prepared I’ll be to take on the hills and trails of northern New Hampshire.  I foresee day-long road rides in my future… technical trail rides… overnight rides… The ultra training, combined with a few weeks of high-altitude trekking and running in Peru and Ecuador, should prepare me well for the foot sections, but I’ll have to work harder to get enough time in the pedals.
And to that end, I hereby pronounce 2010 The Year of the Bike. I’ll be virtually teaming up with triathlete extraordinaire Angela Kidd, working on speed and endurance and, in my case, technical skills.
We’re still figuring out the nuts and bolts of what this year will entail – likely some weekly mileage goals, and some attention to quality as well.
The YOTB got off to a good start on New Years Day; after a morning of dissertating and a quick five-mile run with a friend, I came home and rocked an hour and a half of the Pikes Peak Program on the bike.  I’m headed to San Diego next week for a conference and am hoping to get in at least a couple quality rides in the hotel gym.  Once I get back, though, it’s on for real.   
Untamed New England, here I come.
10 responses to “The Year of the Bike

  1. Denise January 3, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    I'm curious to see your training for the Ultra. Nutrition will be tricky for that 72 hour race. I really suffered during Reach the Beach with that. Eating out of a van, no sleep, running on and off. It's hard to prepare for that kind of thing.

  2. Amanda January 4, 2010 at 8:41 am

    "I'm still not entirely sure what 2010 will bring on the racing front (or, come to think of it, the school front, or the job front, or the geographic front… but those are all matters for another post)." That pretty much sums up my life at this point too:)You've got an exciting year with those two huge races. I am looking forward to following your training and racing, especially for the ultra. Happy New Year!

  3. RunningLaur January 4, 2010 at 10:10 am

    I can't wait to hear how much fun you have doing all of this – you have such wonderful adventures!

  4. Kim January 4, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    I am also deeming my year the 'Year of the Bike'. You have such amazing goals!

  5. Angela and David Kidd January 5, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    The only time I've been up 72 hours straight involved being in a law firm office the entire time and eating nothing but candy corn for 48 hours of those 72 hours. I don't advise that nutrition strategy. The YOTB is on. I did a bike test this morning. It sucked!

  6. Jill January 7, 2010 at 12:05 am

    Wow, that's very exciting about your two big races!! I, too, cannot be certain what 2010 brings me but I will focus on a few that I know I WILL do and aim to be in the best condition for those. That's the best I can do right now.It's going to be a blast following your journey!! I'm very inspired!

  7. X-Country2 January 7, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    Sounds like a pretty amazing year. Can't wait to read all about it.

  8. marc bress January 17, 2010 at 12:27 am

    hey-I hope to join you there as well..and i need time on the bike too, so let me know when you're gonna be riding.. i'll join you, if i can!

  9. Pingback: The Year of the Bike, Revisited « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

  10. Pingback: 2012: The Year of… « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Leave a Reply

