Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Kicking Asphalt

In just over twelve hours, I’ll be getting into my car to head downtown for the 7:00 AM start of the Philadelphia Marathon.

I’m not so sure what to think about this one.  
On one level, this is one of my favorite races.  I love the course.  I love the crowds.  I love the Rocky theme song playing on every other block.
But at the same time, I’m a little burnt out.  I’ve been sick on and off for the past couple months.  School is ramping up (was it ever not ramped up?) and there will be little reprieve until mid-January when I hand in the dissertation.  And I’m not sure how my body’s going to handle my fourth long race in five weeks.  
Today, I made a couple decisions.
(1) I’m going to start with the 3:40 pace group.  My body wasn’t feeling great this week, lingering effects of the bronchitis, the antibiotics, the races, and the dissertation.  But the past two days I’ve been feeling pretty good.  So, why not?  If I’m not feeling it tomorrow, I’ll pull back.  But I might as well see what I can do.
(2) I’m leaving my Garmin at home.  I’ve run with it for the past two marathons, and I don’t like how it affects my experience.  I’d rather not be fixated on the time, knowing my pace every second of the course.  Mile splits are enough for me.  I just want to enjoy it.
So, we’ll see.  Maybe tomorrow will be my day.  Maybe it won’t.  Either way, I have a ton of friends out there running and cheering.  The weather’s supposed to be great.  And I know every inch of this course.  What else would I rather do on a Sunday morning?
4 responses to “Kicking Asphalt

  1. The Happy Runner November 21, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    Good luck! I think starting w/3:40 and letting your body dictate how you run is a good idea. I hope you have a great race!!

  2. Ted November 21, 2009 at 8:06 pm

    You have a great attitude. I admire you. Good Luck and tear up the asphalt. I will be very eager to find out how you do.

  3. Billie November 21, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    Good luck! I ditched (not by choice) my polar, too. But I'm happy it isn't with me. I am trying to have the same mindset as you 🙂 I know if I had it on me I'd be so focused on my pace I'd forget to enjoy it.

  4. RunningLaur November 21, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    Good luck! You'll have a fun time no matter what, and I'll be cheering for you from the desert!

Leave a Reply

