Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

A Hat Trick

Tomorrow morning brings the last local adventure race of the season, and with it, the return of the GOALS Girls Gone Wild.  With Denise traipsing about in the wiles of Austin, Texas, Bess will be joining me and Sue as we take on The Edge and go for a three-peat victory in the female-three division. 
With Jon directing the race, Ali towing a couple newbies around in the woods, Brent putting in an all-star performance at USARA Nationals down in Texas, and Bruce at home trying to shake the lingering effects of pneumonia, we three will be the lone GOALS representatives on the course.  
During our first outing, I was fresh off an ironman finish (with a yet undetected tear in my IT band), and served as the team gopher (or rabbit, as the case may be), hopping off my bike or running the extra fifteen yards to grab the checkpoint.  It was the first time I felt like a productive member of an AR team – and it left me wanting more.

Last spring, our second time around saw us chest-deep in the Brandywine Creek, as Japanese tourists snapped our pictures and elderly hikers tried unsuccessfully to convince us to let them lend a hand.
So what does Jon have in store for us this time?  All I know is that I have to show up at Marsh Creek State Park at 9 AM, armed with a bike, a paddle, and a five dollar bill.
5 responses to “A Hat Trick

  1. RunningLaur October 25, 2009 at 1:35 am

    Good luck – you'll be fantastic!! ps. I'm likely registering for my first adventure race this week, all on foot, but exciting anyway 🙂 your adventures are wearing off

  2. RunningLaur October 25, 2009 at 1:49 am

    It looks like there's one in March, I'll have to keep that in the back of my mind. Maybe that'd be a fun blogger meet up type event.

  3. Denise October 25, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    I want to do one of these some day. Sound so fun! Can't wait to hear about it.

  4. N.D. October 25, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    hope it goes well – beautiful day – enjoy!

  5. Angela and David Kidd October 26, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    I am most curious at what the $5 bill is for. Hope it went well!

Leave a Reply

