Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Decisions, Decisions

“Abby, you’re being ridiculous.”

This is probably what I need someone to tell me right now.
I ran a marathon two days ago.  I’m still coughing up half a lung (on the plus side, it was a whole lung a last week).  I meant it when I said that after Steamtown, I wanted to put road running aside for awhile and focus on adventure racing.  
And yet…
I’m like a dog with a bone.  I’m just not good at letting things go.  I hate setting goals and not achieving them.  I decided at the beginning of the year that I wanted to qualify for Boston in 2009, and I’m having a helluva time dropping it.
I went into Sunday’s marathon consciously trying not to worry about a BQ, and though we were on pace for the first half, once we dropped off, I didn’t worry about it.  I’m still happy with my Steamtown performance, and still feel like I washed away the bad taste that Jersey had left.
But that doesn’t mean that the taste for Boston went down with it…
In the next two months, I have three races planned: 
*The Edge, a 6-hour adventure race on October 25
*The Odyssey AR ROGAINE, a 24-hour running and orienteering event on November 7
*The Fair Hill O-Marathon, combining basic navigation and trail running, on December 12
So where in the world would I fit a marathon in?
If Philly hadn’t sold out, the November 22 race would the perfect qualifier.  There are plenty of races that I could travel to, but I’m not prepared to add any more trips to my schedule right now.
And then there’s the Marshall University Marathon.  In West Virginia.  In three weeks.  
Seriously, Abby?  You’re being ridiculous.
Update: I just found this Northern Central Rail Trail Marathon in Baltimore over Thanksgiving weekend… Hmm…
Don’t forget, this Thursday, October 15, is International Blog Action Day!
6 responses to “Decisions, Decisions

  1. Denise October 13, 2009 at 4:31 pm

    Go for it!! Maybe I'll see you in Boston!!

  2. RunningLaur October 13, 2009 at 4:33 pm

    I have to say that the rail trail marathon looks pretty great – and it is certified. It also gives you the perfect excuse to eat the whole world up on Thanksgiving. 🙂

  3. X-Country2 October 13, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    I'm the exact same way, so I'm no help what so ever. :o)

  4. Bess October 14, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    Abby, you're being ridiculous. But I guess that means I'm being ridiculous too.

  5. The Happy Runner October 14, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    I love it! I just love how into it you are!!That trail marathon looks pretty cool.

  6. Amanda October 17, 2009 at 9:23 pm

    I say go for it, if it's feasible for you at all. A BQ is obviously imporant to you, so I hope you get it sooner rather than later!

Leave a Reply

