Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

And I’ll coast down the length of your drive by the light of the moon

I spent 18 of the past 36 hours in my car, driving to southwestern Ohio and back with a three-hour pit stop in downtown Cincinnati to present a paper at a conference.


I survived the last few hundred miles on spotty Phillies baseball and a lovely sing-a-long with Josh Ritter and my IPod.

And somewhere around Gettysburg, I had a realization.  The end of a long drive is a lot like the last six miles of a marathon.  Your brain is simply not firing on all cylinders.  You can barely piece together choruses of songs of which only 30 hours earlier you knew every word.
     It’s a long way to heaven, it’s closer to Harrisburg.  And that’s still a long way from the…

     Deep in the belly of the whale I found…

     Me and Jiggs, staring at the ceiling, the stars above the radar range…  

Hmm… Maybe in some weird way, I can count this road trip as training for next weekend’s Steamtown Marathon.
3 responses to “And I’ll coast down the length of your drive by the light of the moon

  1. Denise October 4, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    I can totally relate. The drives to Michigan and back in a weekend killed me and I felt like an idiot by the time we got home. Good luck next weekend. I think I'm heading up there to cheer a bunch of people on. I'll keep an eye out for you.

  2. Natalie D October 4, 2009 at 2:29 pm

    hope all the driving and long run went well. Saw your email this morning.. had to run on treadmill (IN CT)

  3. I Run for Fun October 6, 2009 at 2:15 am

    Wow! Steamtown's here already??? This summer disappeared so fast! Needless to say, I am not running, but I will be thinking of you…all the best!

Leave a Reply

