Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

The Last Temptation of Abby

A recent phone conversation with my husband:


Brent: Hey, Ab, I was just calling to say hello and see how your day’s going.

Me: Pretty good – productive meeting with the advisor about the conference, then the usual dissertating and grading.  How about you?

Brent: Not bad.  Mostly teaching, and a little bit of grading…

Pause.

Brent: So, I’m really bummed that I’m not racing in Nationals this year.

Me: Hmm… Is it too late to sign up?

Brent: No… I was actually wondering if you might want to think about going down to Texas and racing together. 

Me: Ah, so this is why you called…
The US ARA (US Adventure Racing Association) national championships are taking place in three weeks, just north of Dallas, Texas.  GOALS has qualified a few times this year, but the organization moved the race date up a few weeks, and no one on our team was able to commit to late October.  
After a few more minutes of indulging Brent in his musings, I remember that I’m presenting a paper at a conference that Friday, so there’s no way I can race, even if I wanted to.  And yet I continue to indulge him.  And I continue to consider it.
I’m in better biking shape now than I’ve been in all year.  I’m marathon-ready, and have been taking to the trails at least somewhat regularly.  The event is in Texas – a rare opportunity for overnight warmth in a fall race.
Could I swing it?  
Is it worth even thinking about?
Definitely not.
And yet…
5 responses to “The Last Temptation of Abby

  1. RunToTheFinish September 29, 2009 at 9:42 pm

    oh the racing bug…will it bite?

  2. Denise September 29, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    DO IT!!! As for Shawmont…we start at Northwestern ave and go down to Ridge. From there we take the tow path up towards Belmont Ave and cut through to run up Shawmont. After you cross Ridge you cut a left and go down to cross Henry ave and the entrance back to Valley green is right there. When you hit the trail, go left to take you back to Northwestern ave.

  3. Angela and David Kidd September 30, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    Somehow I think you just might be able to pull it off.

  4. X-Country2 September 30, 2009 at 7:18 pm

    Oooh, that "and yet" part is the WORST! Good luck if you can swing it. You sound ready.

  5. Nobel4Lit October 1, 2009 at 2:58 am

    The bf and I have similar conversations (about regular races, though). I am just starting on my dissertation… I will look to you for inspiration!

Leave a Reply

