Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

A Day in the Life…

Today I experienced what I imagine the coveted on-campus interview process will feel like in the world of academia: appointment after appointment, cheat sheets for memory jogging, and a few spare moments to hit the bathroom.

I left my house this morning at 6:10 AM and booked it down the street to board the 6:19 train to 30th Street Station.
I made it to 30th Street with a few minutes to spare, hit up the ATM, and ran across the street to hop on the BoltBus, the newest trend in northeast corridor travel: fares ranging from $1-$15, luxury seats, and free wifi in transit from Philly to New York.
2 hours and 20 minutes later, we pulled up to Penn Station, and I embarked on a day that rivaled any marathon.
9:50-10:10 AM: Run cross-town from 34th and 8th to 40th and 2nd.  Remember how many random avenues disrupt the numbers.
10:10-11:15 AM: An iced coffee date at an outdoor cafe (read: a fancy dunkin donuts) around the corner from the UN with my cousin, Michael.
11:15-11:30 AM: Back across town to 42nd and 6th.  Take in the grandness of Grand Central Station.
11:30-12:45 PM: Fresh fruit in Bryant Park and a much-needed catch-up with my friend, Brendan.  Traded book recommendations and family happenings.
12:50-1:20 PM: A Subway to High Street in DUMBO.  Down Under the Manhattan Bridge Overpass.  I guess every hip neighborhood needs a good acronym.
1:30-2:45 PM: Lunch overlooking the East River with my friend, Kate.  Learned about her work on a documentary about the 15th anniversary of the Rwandan genocide.  Contemplated the world of online dating.
2:45-3:30 PM: F Subway back to Manhattan, to 14th and 6th.  Walk back across town to 11th and Broadway.  Pit stop in Whole Foods on Union Square.  I’ve never been inside a Manhattan Whole Foods.
3:30-4:30 PM: Iced peppermint tea at a trendy cafe with my friend Mira and her new husband.  Discussed cross-country moves and literary agents, and how to balance career and family.
4:30 PM: Part ways with Mira.  An hour of free time!  What to do?  Call Denise, head of New York Adventure Racing Association.  “I’m in the East Village, where are you?”  “In the West Village.  I’ll meet you at 4th and Broadway in 10 minutes.”
4:55 PM: Meet Denise.  10 minutes in New York is really about 25 with foot traffic.
5:00-5:50 PM: Check out the brand new Eastern Mountain Sport in Soho.  Refrain from buying anything.  Visit the EMS Adventure section.  Look at maps of different countries.  Plan imaginary vacations.
5:50-6:10 PM: Look for 40 W. 4th Street.   40 W. 4th Street does not exist.  Find Sarah at 140 W. 4th Street.  Wrong address, right friend.
6:10-7:15 PM: Dinner with Sarah at Red Bamboo, a vegetarian comfort food hotspot in the West Village.  Food is decent; atmosphere leaves something to be desired.
7:15-8:45 PM: Meander back to 34th and 8th with Sarah, scouring mid-town for frozen yogurt.  Finally settle on Yogulato.  It’s no Tasty De-Lite.
8:45-9:05 PM: Wait for the bus to unload a woman in a wheelchair.  The electric lift gets stuck.  Five times.
9:05 PM: En route back to Philly.  BoltBus wifi seems like a good idea in theory, but car-sickness is settling in.  Time to turn off computer.
All in a day’s work. 
9 responses to “A Day in the Life…

  1. X-Country2 June 18, 2009 at 3:12 am

    Wow, that wore me out just reading it. I hope you gets loads of good news!

  2. Brent June 18, 2009 at 3:21 am

    Why are you contemplating online dating?! Just because I'm in DC???

  3. Denise June 18, 2009 at 11:49 am

    Geesh, what a day!! I was excited to have my new phone to play with while we're driving, b/c I have the internet on it, but it makes me car sick, too.

  4. Angela and David Kidd June 18, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    Ha! I also wondered why you were contemplating online dating. Sounds like a crazy day. Hope you slept on the bus ride home.

  5. Ali Wish June 18, 2009 at 5:07 pm

    Ha, Brent, I thought the same thing! 😉

  6. N.D. June 18, 2009 at 6:44 pm

    crazy day!!! Glad you got to see everyone!

  7. Kristin June 18, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    Sounds busy. I like busy, keeps me on my toes! Not every day though…

  8. chris mcpeake June 19, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    Man i thought my day was busy

Leave a Reply

