Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

A Birthday Surprise

A few weeks ago, I got a voicemail from Brent.

“Hi Abs, it’s me, I was just calling to say hi.”
Regardless of the reason for Brent’s call, he always begins with “just calling to say hi.”
“I have an important question for you.  Call me back when you can.”
Several hours and a few traded messages later, we finally got ahold of each other.
“Do we have anything planned for June 20th?” he asked.
“Nope,” I said, straining to remember whether there was any ink on my calendar for that day.
“Okay,” he said firmly.  “Don’t plan anything.”  
“Why?” I asked, pretty sure where he was going.
“It’s a surprise.  For your birthday.  That’s all I’m saying.”
For various reasons, my birthdays have been pretty lame the past couple years.  Two years ago, the big day came hot on the heels of my law school graduation and our wedding, and both Brent and I were a little celebration-ed out.  Pair that with Brent competing in a 12-hour adventure race that weekend, and you get a forgotten birthday.  Last year, it was overshadowed by another race, and an additional distraction or two that neither of us can remember at this point.
Brent doesn’t care much for his own birthday (which means that I have to temper the urge to plan big), but while I’m not one for going gangbusters, I like the idea of some sort of celebration for mine.  So after the last couple mild disappointments, Brent was determined to plan something special.
“Okay,” I asked him.  “Just tell me one thing – does it involve friends, or just the two of us?
“Just us,” he laughed.  
“Perfect,” I replied, “then we can have some friends over for a BBQ the next day!”
******
Over the past few weeks, I’ve become privy to a few carefully divulged details.
“I just want you to know,” he said one morning over breakfast.  “I’m not getting you a gift, because what we’re doing costs as much as we’d normally spend on presents.”
“Pack a bag on Friday night,” he mentioned as he was getting ready to leave for a week-long conference this past Sunday.  “You’ll want to wear something comfortable that you can walk around in.  And bring a bathing suit.”

“A bikini, or a speedo?” I asked.  

“That’ll give it away,” he said.  “Bring both.”

“Bug spray?” I wondered, half-joking.

“Yeah, you’ll probably want bug spray and sun block… And a change of clothes, too.  Nothing fancy.  Just regular jeans kind of clothes.  Oh, and we’ll need to pack lunch, too.  I’ll take care of the details for that.”
“We’re leaving early,” he told my sister last weekend as we celebrated my grandmother’s 80th birthday.  “So if you could let the dogs out mid-day, that would be great.”

“Do you need me to take them for a walk in the evening, too?” she asked.

“Nope,” he said.  “We should probably be home by 6 or so.”
******
So. Early departure. Something costly. Hiking clothes and bug spray and sunbathing. Home before dinner.
What could it be?
10 responses to “A Birthday Surprise

  1. aron June 16, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    ohhhhh this sounds FUN!!! LOVE it 🙂 cannot wait to hear what it is!happy birthday too 🙂

  2. RunningLaur June 17, 2009 at 12:03 am

    I'm stumped. Bet you'll have a good time though! Happy birthday!!

  3. Angela and David Kidd June 17, 2009 at 1:00 am

    I have no clue. The suspense would be killing me! It's very cool of him to pull this off for you.Happy Birthday!

  4. Amanda June 17, 2009 at 11:58 am

    Ooooh the suspense! That sounds so exciting, I can't wait to hear what he has planned!!

  5. Denise June 17, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    I love surprises!!! Can't wait to hear what it is.

  6. Denise June 17, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    Oh, happy birthday!

  7. N.D. June 17, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    I'm picturing some kind of adventure w/ swimming too. Like a scavenger hunt w/ beach at the end White water rafting included. Haha have fun!

  8. RunToFinish June 17, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    wow! I am fwding this to hubby so he can get a clue about surprises, he is awful at them!

  9. Nobel4Lit June 17, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    Can't wait to hear what it is!

  10. Kristin June 18, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    Ooo that's so exciting! I can't wait to see what it is!! Have fun wherever you may be…

Leave a Reply

