Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Missed Opportunities

I had the chance to do a second overnight adventure race in a few weeks.

I had the chance and I almost took it.
But then I paused.  I wavered.  I thought, after racing four times in the last six weeks, maybe my body needs a break.  Maybe it’s time for an off-season.  Maybe my dissertation needs some attention.
And by the time I realized how much I wanted that race, it was no longer mine to have.
So, at the end of June, I will not be spending another 27 hours running around in the woods.  I will not be surviving once again on energy bars and electrolyte gummies.  I will not be working on my bike glove tan lines and baseball-sized bruises.
Bummer…
11 responses to “Missed Opportunities

  1. Nobel4Lit June 11, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    …but that is okay! I'm sure the break from all that glamour(?) will prepare you for future adventure races.

  2. RunningLaur June 11, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    turn those hours into some hard core disertation time, and you'll feel free and happy to take on the next challenge. I'm sure your body could use some rest too – and more froyo 🙂

  3. N.D. June 12, 2009 at 1:09 am

    I think that is a good thing.

  4. Bess June 12, 2009 at 3:03 am

    off season? What's that?

  5. Denise June 12, 2009 at 10:58 am

    Aw, I'm sorry. But you're right, you probably do need to take a little rest. You'll be that much better off for the next one!

  6. Amanda June 12, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    I'm sorry you're bummed about it.Be productive with the dissertation, then enjoy some R&R!!

  7. Kim June 12, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    Booo…but it's okay, there is another around the corner yet to come, I have no doubt.

  8. X-Country2 June 12, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    That sucks. :o( I think this will be good for you though. Things happen for a reason. :o)

  9. I Run for Fun June 12, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    You've kicked butt at these last few races. Your body will appreciate the recovery time and I am sure you will come back even stronger.

  10. RunToFinish June 13, 2009 at 2:04 am

    I know how it feels to have to say no and it stinks some times for sure…but man these crazy long races seem like you should get a little recovery in between…plus hey don't you have a few other things to do…llike planning an awesome trip

  11. Angela and David Kidd June 13, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    It will just make you hungrier for the next race! Enjoy the weekend of recovering.

Leave a Reply

