Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

National Running Day Eve

National Running Day fell during a rough week this year.  Between out-of-town houseguests, my sister’s nursing school graduation, and a mini-taper for this weekend’s 27-hour adventure race, not to mention the usual weekly busy-ness, I knew that scheduling many runs would be a challenge.  
Still, I wanted to be a part of the celebration, and after talking to Bess about the possibilities, we decided to combine it with another plan we had recently made – to test out a new “breakfast” frozen yogurt bar before we both head out of town for the summer.
On Monday night, we made plans to meet the following morning for a quick National Running Day Eve jaunt, to be followed with a trip to the newest addition to the chain coffee shop craze, Saxby’s in Manayunk.
I woke up early on Tuesday to take the dogs for a walk before heading out for the run.  I made it most of the way around the block with little fanfare, but on the way back to the house, Lupine caught wind of a bird and made a beeline down the street, not realizing that my arm was still attached to his leash.  He pulled abruptly, and my shoulder attempted to follow him, much to the dismay of my neck.
The effect was minimal at first, but by the time I met Bess 20 minutes later, I could barely turn my head from side to side.  “I’m not sure about this run,” I told her.  “It hurts just to hold my cell phone to my ear.”  But after a quick test run around the parking lot, I realized that the mild pounding didn’t seem to do any additional damage.
We set off uncertainly to attempt a short run, which turned into a 5 mile shuffle as I worked to keep my head on straight and she struggled to stabilize her knee after a cartoon-ish scramble on the trails the day before left her with, as her go-to knee expert put it, “a mildly fucked up knee with MCL strainage.”  (Click here for her account of the adventure).
On the way back, we hit up the breakfast bar, where I enjoyed a lovely cup of yogurt topped with mango and blueberries.  We finished out the last half mile and stretched in the parking lot, and I was pleasantly surprised to find that my neck was slowly beginning to loosen up.
Softserve and running – the perfect panacea.
*Before enjoying this combo, consider the timing… The rest of the morning was filled with mild nausea and dull hunger, leaving us both to come to the conclusion that frozen yogurt – no matter how ‘breakfasty’ it may be – is perhaps not the best choice for a post-run morning meal.*

**Not to worry – there was a run on the real National Running Day as well.  It was wet and hilly and fun, but not quite as exciting as the Eve.**
4 responses to “National Running Day Eve

  1. Natalie D June 4, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    Ooh, hope your neck feels better!

  2. RunningLaur June 4, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    It may not has been a good breakfast, but it made for a good story – at an excuse I meet up with a friend. Those are never bad. Hope the neck loosens up!

  3. Denise June 4, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    I thought frozen yogurt was good any time of the day! I'll have to check that place out, didn't know much about it until your post.

  4. I Run for Fun June 4, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    What a dedicated runner you are! Hope your neck feels better. Frozen yoghurt with mangoes…haven't tried it, but sounds yumm!

Leave a Reply

