Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Destiny, Revealed

A couple weeks ago, Bess and I determined that destiny would be taking us to Charlottesville, VA, for the Bel Monte Endurance Run, a point-to-point 50-mile trail ultra that weaves its way through the George Washington National Forest.

The race is a little bit later than we’d originally planned for our ultra debut, taking place on March 27, 2010.  In our research, we realized that we wanted to be a little bit more prepared than we knew we’d be able to be for a fall race.
Brent is tentatively thinking about joining us for the adventure, since it’s before the start of adventure racing season and after the franticness that the fall always brings, with the busy-ness of the start of the school year and the long days of teaching and soccer coaching.
Along the way, we’ll use a couple local-ish races to make the ultra-long training runs a little bit more exciting.  Tentatively, the Philly Marathon will kick off the training schedule on November 22.  On January 2, we’ll take to the trails of Fair Hill, MD for the free 50k Phunt Run.  And on February 13, we’ll trek down to Lynchburg,VA for the Holiday Lake 50k.
I’m a little bit anxious about all of this running, wondering whether my body, my mind, my social life, and my academic career will survive in tact.  For the past few days, I’ve been feeling like my body has betrayed me.  Or perhaps I’ve betrayed my body.  I’ve felt sluggish and heavy, with sore quads and hamstrings that no amount of stretching seems to remedy.  Given my relatively limited experience with marathons and my penchant for post-race injuries, I probably should have taken a real break after NJ (at least more than two days off from running!).  So, I’m paying for it a little bit now.
I’m not too worried, though.  I promised Brent that I’d take off the rest of this week (starting yesterday) before our 12-hour race on Saturday.  And after that, I’m going to cool my heels on the running and spend some quality time with my mountain bike in preparation for the 27-hour adventure race two weeks later.
Once the Longest Day is over, I think I’ll lay low for a little while.  I’ll shake out my legs, arnica-up all of the bruises that I’ll inevitably find post-race, retire my shoes, and get an end-of-season pedicure.
And within a couple weeks, I know that I’ll be chomping at the bit for more…
10 responses to “Destiny, Revealed

  1. Angela and David Kidd May 21, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    That is an incredible series of long runs you have coming up. Do you like ice baths? Sounds like you are going to need them.

  2. Kim May 22, 2009 at 1:03 am

    Sounds like good times. Take a break and you’ll be feeling your Wheaties soon enough.

  3. The Happy Runner May 22, 2009 at 1:11 am

    Wowzer! 50-mile trail run — that’s amazing to me. Enjoy the rest of your days off. Hope the legs feel great when you get back out for a run.

  4. X-Country2 May 22, 2009 at 3:32 am

    Sounds like a great adventure!

  5. Ali Wish May 22, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    awesome, awesome, awesome. keep me posted about support crew needs 🙂

  6. Denise May 22, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    That’s so cool! I’m glad you found a good one. I have to say, I feel like I’m running all the time, which I am, but I’m loving the training. Since you’re not doing the runs fast, your body handles them totally better. My body feels better now then it did when I trained for Philly! As for the 5:1, I do my back to back long runs this way and one run during the week this way. It’s to get used to the transition of walking and running. The first time I was really sore afterwards b/c it’s so different walking and I wasn’t used to it. The most important part of training is the back to back long runs, though. I’m also starting some two a days next week…

  7. I Run for Fun May 22, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    Sounds like an awesome run.You are incredible and full of energy! But even you are human and need rest, girl!

  8. RunToFinish May 23, 2009 at 1:07 am

    I am really amazed you haven’t had an injury with jumping back in to training so quickly…says the girl who is horrific about taken rest days. though since my injury I have learned to give my body some extra timelooks like a very fun plan!!

  9. Frayed Laces May 25, 2009 at 1:04 am

    I think your plan sounds fantastic! I am looking forward to reading all about things on your journey. Way to go, girl!

Leave a Reply

