Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

And so it begins…

This past weekend, Brent and I headed north for his 10-year high school reunion. After fourteen hours of driving, one brief mother’s day stop at Brent’s sister-in-law’s house in Massachusetts, and two fun-filled days recalling Brent’s boarding school hijinks, we made it back to Philadelphia last night to gear up for another week.

This was the fourth weekend in a row of traveling, the fourth in a series of seven or eight where either I or we will be flying, driving, hiking, or biking around the country.

Over the next four weekends, I will be (in order)…

-Heading to Portland, Oregon to visit a friend
-Driving to Central PA to celebrate our two-year anniversary with a 12-hour race
-Galavanting about the Jersey shore with my mom
-Trekking up to the Catskills for a 27-hour race

Then, after a couple weeks off in the middle of June (‘off’ being a relative term, as I intend to finish a draft of my dissertation during that period), the real fun begins.

Between the end of June and the beginning of September, I will be (in order)…

-Heading back to Washington, DC to fill in some holes with research at the Library of Congress
-Driving to the New Hampshire-Canada border to volunteer at a 72-hour adventure race (Brent and a few other members of the GOALS crew will actually be racing, so they’ll be expending a little bit more energy than me, though I’ll be running around the course and working on the media and blogging team at Race Central)
-Cruising the eastern Caribbean for nine days with 20 members of my immediate family for my grandmother’s 80th birthday (and spending a fair bit of time on the ship’s treadmill, as training for Steamtown commences that week)
-Returning to New England to drop off one of the pups at Brent’s folks’ house because we will be…
-Backpacking across Germany for three weeks, with 50-60 miles of hiking through the Bavarian Alps and potential pit stops in Austria, France, and Switzerland

No doubt, it will be an amazing summer.  But given the last four weeks and the next few to come, it’s a little overwhelming, thinking about the non-stop-edness of it all.

I think I need a nap…
12 responses to “And so it begins…

  1. Bess May 12, 2009 at 2:46 am

    I think I need a nap too…..

  2. Denise May 12, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    I hate when all of a sudden I realize every wknd is booked! Sometimes you just need a wknd with nothing to do. Your caribbean trip sounds great! I’m so jealous!!Rest up, you’re going to need it!

  3. Kristin May 12, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    Wow that sounds like quite the summer! I am so jealous about the backpacking through Germany part! I love Germany/Switz/Austria, I actually think its my favorite place I have been. I would love to go back!I hope you will be blogging along the way…

  4. RunToFinish May 12, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    wow look at all of that fabulous traveling! i’d be a little exhausted but oh europe, I long to go back! did you decide where in switzerland you are going? love it!

  5. aron May 12, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    wow you are busy! i think you need to add a trip to SF in there though 🙂

  6. Amanda May 12, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    I hate that feeling when you look at your schedule and realize there are no free weekends left. It looks like you have a super busy summer ahead, but lots of fun stuff going on!

  7. Kim May 12, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    Sounds like it is going to be an amazing summer!

  8. Angela and David Kidd May 13, 2009 at 1:06 am

    Damn girl. I am exhausted (and jealous) just reading all of that.

  9. I Run for Fun May 13, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    Wow, Abby…that’s some schedule. What an awesome summer you are going to have. (Aah…you’ve made me start dreaming…backpacking across the Alps!) Enjoy yourself and keep blogging (want to hear about all your adventures!).Are you following a particular training plan for Steamtown? I need to start looking into that soon.

  10. The Happy Runner May 14, 2009 at 1:42 am

    Nap? No Kidding! Sounds like some fun stuff, though!

  11. Kristin May 14, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    Hiya! Yes, I am still thinking of adding a sprint, I just have to pick one! And I guess I need to start swimming….argh. Your summer sounds so exciting!

  12. Pingback: Of Racing and Relationships, Part IV « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Leave a Reply

