Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Destiny

Official marathon chip time: 3:55:35 (PR by 2:29)

One additional weekend highlight: I got to meet up with Kavitha, over at I Run For Fun! Because of the baby raccoon incident and the chaos of Saturday morning, I didn’t get a chance to copy down her phone number, so I was so excited that she recognized me as I was walking out of the expo with my friends. I had spent some time the day before scanning her blog for pictures, but with little success, so I didn’t know who to look for. We only got to talk for a few minutes, but it was so nice to meet her after reading about her adventures for the past few months. Since we’re both relatively local, I’m excited to link up at more races in the future!

Onward and upward…

Bess and I powwowed yesterday at Scoop Deville, one of Philadelphia’s most famous ice cream shops (similar idea to Coldstone, but incomparably better). Over chocolate frozen yogurt mixed with whoppers and peanut butter (me) and heathbars and coffee (Bess), we hatched a plan for the fall racing season.

I’ll be sticking to adventure racing for the late spring and summer, with the 12-hour Michaux Memorial Rogaine in three weeks, the 27-hour Longest Day AR two weeks later, and maybe the GOALS 24-hour Cradle of Liberty at the end of June, and Bess may get in a few races (knowing her, likely marathons 16, 17, and 18) before she heads up to New Hampshire for a summer of bliss as the head nurse at Camp Robindel. But this fall, we will reconvene with fresh legs and big plans.

First up: the Steamtown Marathon on October 10. Living in Philadelphia, you hear a lot about this race; with its negative elevation gain, it’s been dubbed one of the fastest marathon courses in the country. It’s a smaller race, but with big crowds and (supposedly) stellar organization. It’ll be a challenge, for sure, with the early downhill miles having the potential to thrash our quads, but if we train smart, hopefully it’ll be a good day. Natalie’s thinking of racing with us, and Ali said she might come out to cheer us on. Anyone else on board?

Two weeks later is the Edge, and with it (unless the GOALS Guys have anything to say about it), the anticipated return of Goals Girls Gone Wild.

And then, our destiny. The fall ultra that we’ve been scheming about for several weeks. A welcomed retreat from the busy-ness of the big road races, traversing mile after glorious mile on smooth silky trails (or something like that…), with only a map and a hundred-odd other runners to guide us. (Truth be told, I have no idea how these things actually work) We’re trying to convince Brent to jump on the bandwagon with us.

At first we thought our destiny was a 12-hour ultra on New Years Eve in North Carolina. And then we learned that the race would take place on a one-mile track. Round and round you go, where you stop, EVERYBODY knows because you’re stuck on a conveyor belt under harsh fluorescent lights.

I think I’ll pass..

After a few other misses, we decided to table the conversation until today, when we’d both have time to scour the internet for other possibilities. As I write, Bess is compiling a pro/con list of all of the ultras we selected. Hopefully, it will guide us to our REAL destiny.

I’m tingling in anticipation, and I know you are, too…

11 responses to “Destiny

  1. RunToFinish May 5, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    seriously you are amazing! I am fearful of the one marathon I can commit to you and your off for ultras…now that is motivation for sure. I swear as soon as SD is over I’ll have a feeling for what I can commit to

  2. I Run for Fun May 5, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    An ultra 2 weeks after the marathon? I am in complete awe! You are such a bundle of energy! I think I just found my fall marathon…Steamtown sounds perfect! Count me in!

  3. Angela and David Kidd May 6, 2009 at 1:20 am

    You guys are amazing. I can’t even imagine contemplating doing an ultra.One day I’d love to do the Steamtown Marathon. My dad lives just an hour from their. I’ll be interested to hear what you think.

  4. RunningLaur May 6, 2009 at 2:39 am

    So exciting – can’t wait to read about all of the amazing things you do! Steamtown is supposed to be fantastic, my college roommate will be running it as her first. I have it in mind for another year ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. RunningLaur May 6, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    Nope, no Giants here. Apparently that’s a fairly local phenomenon. It was a bit difficult to adapt to all of the strange grocery stores here – Fry’s, Albertson’s, Basha’s, Food City… and there are no Wegman’s either (crying still).

  6. Kristin May 6, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    Oh man I would die if I had to run for 12 hours on a mile long track! That’s awful!I can’t wait to see what ultra you pick and follow your training! You’re so inspiring with all of your adventure races and ultras and such!

  7. Nobel4Lit May 6, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    Wow! Congratulations on your time!

  8. aron May 6, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    sounds like you have so much fun stuff going on ๐Ÿ™‚ cant wait to follow along!

  9. N.D. May 6, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    sounds like a whole lot going on. Awesome ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Amanda May 7, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    That’s so fun to be picking races, and to have friends to run it with. That ultra on a 1-mile track, are you kidding me?? Terrible idea!

  11. X-Country2 May 9, 2009 at 2:27 am

    I can’t believe your racing an ultra so soon! Color me very impressed.

Leave a Reply

