Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

This is where marathons will get you…

Every couple months, the “twentieth century-ists” in my department (the students and faculty who are studying 20th century American history) get together for a Think ‘n Drink. Someone suggests an article on the state of the field, we all read it, and then we head to a local bar downtown to discuss (though, admittedly, often these “discussions” digress into conversations about such things as the swine flu and Arlen Specter’s defection to the Democratic Party).

Tonight was our last such outing of the semester. My friend, Kate, was charged with leading the conversation, and due to some timing and communication snafus, she ended up having to bring her ten-month-old daughter to join in the fun.

I had been going back and forth for much of the day about whether to order a drink at the bar, aware of the inferences that might be drawn if I abstained. Our department went through a bit of baby fever in the past year, and now I’m one of the few married women there without kids. When I left the house around noon, I was all set to order a cider, but after some stomach issues during a short afternoon run, I decided that it just wasn’t worth it, three days before the marathon.

As the conversation was drawing to a close, Kate got up to go to the bathroom, and I offered to hold her daughter, Clara. Clara and I are old friends at this point, having spent the fall going apple picking together, taking the dogs on hikes together, and even screaming our heads off together while her mom was off teaching and her dad was out of town for work.

My advisor was sitting next to me, and after a couple minutes of watching me bounce her on my lap, he looked at the baby, looked at me, and looked at my glass of water. He paused for a moment and said, “So, um, when are you guys going to have one?”

I laughed quickly and told him it might be a little while. “Marathon this weekend,” I responded, hoping that would explain my tee-totaling ways.

“Ah,” he said. “Well good, then.”

Oh goodness…

7 responses to “This is where marathons will get you…

  1. RunToFinish May 1, 2009 at 1:23 am

    seriously, i appreciate that everyone else is ready…but why does that mean I’m going to be popping one out! every time i have a stomach ache at work..oh must be preggers

  2. N.D. May 1, 2009 at 1:29 am

    yea, I try not to ask people unless they feel like talking about it. That pissed me off when I was just married and people would ask. I think everyone has the right to do it when they feel ready! It’s life altering 🙂

  3. The Happy Runner May 1, 2009 at 3:33 am

    Oh, yup. My husband and I were married for almost 8 years when my son was born. I got that type of question a lot during those years! yuck!

  4. Denise May 1, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    I can’t stand that people think just because you’re married you’re going to have kids. Why does no one think that it could be a sensitive subject. Seriously, what if you were trying and couldn’t get pregnant. I’m not having kids, as you can probably tell, and I get so annoyed when people say, “you’re next…”

  5. I Run for Fun May 1, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    We women can’t catch a break, can we? I’ve been married for 7 years and get that all the time. It used to bother me before, now I just laugh it off and give a mechanical response.I like the think and drink idea.

  6. Angela and David Kidd May 1, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    Marathons and triathlon training were my cover when I was pregnant but we weren’t telling people. Until they see you drink (or light up a cigarette) I’m sure they’ll speculate that you are pregnant.Good luck this weekend!

  7. Amanda May 4, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    I know what you mean! We have been married for 4 years, and all of our friends who have been married a much shorter time are already having kids. Everyone assumes we must be trying too, they don’t understand that we’re not all on the same time schedule.

Leave a Reply

