Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Las Vegas on Film

Though I wasn’t able to take any pictures at the show last night, I have been happily snapping away throughout the weekend, and after months without a card reader to upload photos to my computer, I finally got one this afternoon!

Red Rock Canyon


Lovely Ladies


My sister and I, toasting her graduation


You can tell a lot about how different our personalities are by the nail polish we selected.

One of the scariest movies I’ve ever seen is The Peanut Butter Solution, a cult-classic children’s horror film. Few people have heard of it, and even fewer have seen it. I looked up from our booth at a restaurant yesterday, and this was hanging on the wall right in front of me!

This morning, we headed to Boulder City to check out the Hoover Dam. There is a 4 mile rail trail that connects Lake Mead to the visitors center at the dam, so my mom and sister dropped me off at the trail head, and 35 minutes later we met on the roof of the parking garage. I’ve never carried a camera with me during a run before, but I decided to make an exception this time.

Lake Mead (the biggest man-made lake in the country, a product of the Dam construction)


The trail takes you through five tunnels


View from the trail


I’m in Arizona (looking a little bit grimy post-run)!


The Lake Mead side of the Dam


Facing the Colorado River

11 responses to “Las Vegas on Film

  1. RunningLaur April 28, 2009 at 2:42 am

    Some great pictures! So cool that you got the get in a trail run, and in 2 states! Now I’m inspired to run in some trips!

  2. Brent April 28, 2009 at 2:45 am

    Exact same thought: Some great pictures, esp. the one of Red Rock!! See you tomorrow:)

  3. X-Country2 April 28, 2009 at 3:07 am

    Great trip and adorable pics. My company designed the bypass bridge, and it’s going to be pretty cool when it’s done.

  4. I Run for Fun April 28, 2009 at 3:25 am

    Awesome pics! Great family pic, too. You’re having a lovely vacation.

  5. Denise April 28, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    Great pics! I’m going to see if I can find that movie!

  6. Kristin April 28, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    Looks like you guys are having fun! I have not heard of that movie, but now I am intrigued…I have also never taken a camera on a run, I would be afraid something would happen to it! But Im glad you had yours because that was a pretty run.I love to go on runs when I’m on vacation, it’s a great way to see more of the area you’re visiting!

  7. Kim April 28, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    Love the pics!I’ll have to look that movie up. How funny.

  8. Bess April 28, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    Sounds awesome!! I am highly jealous of your taper run yesterday. Mine consisted of dodging SUVs, sweating bullets and the same old boring scenery.

  9. Angela and David Kidd April 28, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    Great pics and it sounds like you got a lot of “stories” from this trip. I used to say I’d do anything for a good story. And yes, you were in Vegas, I guarantee you that entire cast had fake breasts (which after being pregnant and having big boobs for a little while I totally don’t understand why anyone would want big boobs).

  10. Pingback: Filmic Friday: Filmic Favorites « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Leave a Reply

