Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Holy Shoulders Batman!

This afternoon, my mom and sister and I headed to the spa for Part One of Operation Celebration. We each changed into our plush robes and settled in for a massage. My mom signed up for the hot stones, my sister for the traditional swedish, and I went for the “personalized deep tissue therapy,” apparently ideal for athletes with targeted trouble spots.

Because of the race next weekend, I made sure that the massage therapist took it pretty easy on my legs. She broke up some residual scar tissue along my IT band, but otherwise she applied gentle pressure, just to work out the pre-marathon kinks. To compensate, however, she dug deep into my shoulders and back. I requested serious kneading – I wanted to get my money’s worth after all. At one point, she asked me if it was too hard, to which I replied that it felt ‘productive.’

“Generally,” she said, “when someone is wincing the way you are, it probably means that it’s a little bit too much.”

Who knew my muscles were so tight?!

When she finished, my legs felt light and springy, but my back and shoulders felt like they needed another massage to work out the first one. I was in some SERIOUS pain. Good pain, of course. Productive pain.

After the massage (and the subsequent manicure I got when my sister determined that I had “problematic cuticles”), we headed back to the room to get ready for the rest of the evening’s festivities: a fancy sushi dinner and the trip’s main event, Peep Show. On the way to the elevator, however, I was nearly taken out when a frenzied Mel B whisked by en route to the box office. Touched by a Spice Girl. At that moment, my trip was complete.

As I waited on my mom and sister to get dressed, I kept an eye on the Sixers-Magic score to see if my luck would stick around. We headed to the restaurant early for a pre-dinner drink at the bar (maybe the best glass of riesling I’ve ever had), which was conveniently had the sixers game on the big flatscreen TV. The sound was drowned out by the Bruce Springsteen and Rolling Stones soundtrack, but I caught enough to experience a bit of deja vus. Though like the Celtics, the Sixers lost by three, they were handicapped by four points. Which meant that I won again!

I would later learn that, in fact, I’d misunderstood the rules. The handicap on the Celtics was three points. If they won or lost by fewer than three, I won; if they lost by more than three, I lost; and if they won by three on the dot, I broke even and would get my $10 back.

So, in the end, I won my bet on the sixers and “pushed” on the celtics. I went to the cashier to pick up my booty, $29.05 on the $20 I’d put down.

All in a day’s work.

I used my windfall to treat my mom and sister to gelato.

And then it was off to the show…

5 responses to “Holy Shoulders Batman!

  1. RunningLaur April 27, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    Mel B, wow! Winning money, wow! Awesome massage, wow! Sounds like a great trip, as long as the show wasn’t too weird….

  2. Denise April 27, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    Winning something is better than nothing!!

  3. RunToFinish April 27, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    ok, just not a fan of painful massages..nope, no thanks.wow you had a celebrity run in…literally!

  4. I Run for Fun April 27, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    Very productive trip, indeed!Hmm…my shoulders are in pain after a massage too. I wonder if it is because our shoulders tend to tighten up when we run?

  5. N.D. April 27, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    aii.. the massage sounds delightful!

Leave a Reply

