Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Peep Show

A few months ago, my sister graduated from nursing school. It was a hard-fought accomplishment, and this weekend, she and my mom and I are heading off to Las Vegas to celebrate.

I’ve never been to Sin City, and I’m excited to check out the debauchery and depravity.

I’m looking forward to people watching on the strip, to wandering through the old downtown and checking out the courthouse where my parents got married, to visiting Red Rock Canyon and the Hoover Dam (and crossing the state line into Arizona – another new state for me), to easy early morning taper runs and an afternoon massage.

I am, however, less than excited about the Main Event of the weekend: a burlesque version of Little Bo Peep, co-starring Dancing With the Stars’ Kelly Monaco and Mel B, of Spice Girls fame.

This, in fact, is precisely why my sister chose Vegas in the first place. A fan of General Hospital, she jumped at the chance to see one of the show’s stars (Monaco) in the flesh.

And in the flesh, she will be. And in the flesh, we will see her.

It’s not that I’m necessarily averse to watching semi-naked women bop around on stage (though, truthfully, it’s never been something I’ve sought out); I’m just not so interested in watching them with my mother and little sister.

Maybe it will be a bonding experience. Maybe my little sister won’t seem so little afterward.

Or maybe it will be painfully awkward.

At least it’ll be a nice distraction from taper madness!

14 responses to “Peep Show

  1. Bess April 23, 2009 at 3:01 am

    and it will surely make a fantastically wonderful blog entry….

  2. Angela and David Kidd April 23, 2009 at 11:54 am

    Your sister is hysterical. I’ve never been to Vegas before but here is what I do know (my sister is a flight attendant so she spends many nights in hotels there) – you get a cab by having someone at the front desk call one for you. If you go outside to try and hail a cab someone will think you are a prostitute, doesn’t matter how you are dressed.

  3. Denise April 23, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    Definitely check out old Vegas, that’s the coolest part…in my opinion.

  4. RunToFinish April 23, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    ok I think it sounds hilarious!!! I am not really a person who would go to that type of show in general, but if you’re already signed up well time to laugh i up and just sit back for the ride.have lots of fun! I’ve never been to vegas either but want to

  5. X-Country2 April 23, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    Your sister rocks. Picking Vegas just to see Kelly Monoco is beyond awesome.

  6. aron April 23, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    have an awesome trip!!!

  7. Kim April 23, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    Totally agree with RunToFinish.Go. Enjoy yourself. Laugh.Sounds like a great time!

  8. Amanda April 23, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    Oh wow, naughty peep show with the family, can’t wait to hear how it goes!

  9. N.D. April 23, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    yikes! it will keep your mind off tapering for sure !

  10. I Run for Fun April 24, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    Your sis is a hoot! First, she’s an ER fanatic, now this! Ha ha. Enjoy your trip…and the taper.

  11. I Run for Fun April 24, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    I thought I saw your email id, but can’t seem to find it…Would love to meet up at NJM…are you picking up the packet on Saturday? My email is kavi1874@yahoo.com…let me know when you’ll be heading over and we can coordinate.

  12. Pingback: Supermom Strikes Again « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

  13. kari w/ Jogging with Fiction January 12, 2011 at 6:24 am

    hahah! I can’t wait to hear about it!! Have you seen Mel B’s tv show? She’s hilarious! It might not be too bad.

  14. Emily January 12, 2011 at 10:54 am

    I can only take Vegas in small doses. I’m a former Spice Girls groupie so I would totally want to see this for Mel B. But seriously, if Vegas will be good for something, it will be a great distraction from the insanity of taper.

Leave a Reply

