Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Passover, Day Three: Running Legs, Swimming Head

Since I started this little string of entries with the first day of Passover, I figured I might as well follow it through to the end next Wednesday (Next Tuesday? Next Thursday? I’m not sure at this point…)

With the seders over, the challenge of the holiday begins as we leave the big family dinners behind and get back to the real world.

When I woke up this morning, I felt a twinge of panic rise in my throat as I recalled all the foods I wouldn’t be able to eat for the next week. What will I eat my softserve frozen yogurt in? (a cup will do just fine, for the rare occasions that I actually go out and buy softserve) What will I do if I can’t eat a bagel? (since working at Einstein Bros. Bagels one summer in high school, I’ve probably had less than half a dozen bagels annually) How will I get through the next week without a beer? (A beer? Seriously? When have I ever craved a beer?)

I talked myself off the ledge and got ready for a full day of teaching and meetings, to be followed by a run with Natalie and Bess.

Eating at home during Passover is relatively easy, but meals on the go are a whole ‘nother animal. As we set out for a hilly eight miles, I was worried that what I packed for the day wouldn’t be enough to carry me through the run. And sure enough, right around mile six, my body had burned through the oatmeal I’d had for breakfast and the roasted vegetables and Luna Bar that I’d brought to school for lunch.

With that amount of food, I would have been starving by 3:00 even without throwing in a challenging run. What was I thinking?

I pushed through the last two miles and tried to ignore that swimmy feeling in my head as the three of us stretched and chatted. The few pieces of dried pears and peaches that I had afterward did little in the way of recovery, but after an early dinner of baby carrots and peanut butter and matzo with a little bit of melted cheese on top, I’m beginning to feel like myself again.

Lesson learned. Running requires fuel. Passover limits fuel options. Who knew I relied so much on bread (and cereal, and pretzels, and wraps, and…)?

Only six more days and 40-ish more miles to figure it out.

4 responses to “Passover, Day Three: Running Legs, Swimming Head

  1. Bess April 11, 2009 at 4:25 am

    Funny because I was feeling really woozie and almost passed out in the shower. Then I realized that the hunk of challah and 5 dried mango slices being the only thing I’d eaten all day probably did not constitute as “proper” training nutrition. Smart, real smart.

  2. RunToFinish April 11, 2009 at 11:50 am

    hmm would eating more fruit be an option?

  3. Natalie D April 11, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    that is alot of stuff you can’t have! and a strange mixof food for dinner !!

  4. Angela and David Kidd April 11, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    I can’t imagine getting sick of bagels. I could seriously eat them for every single meal.Can you eat avocados? Might be a good source of good fat to fuel your runs.

Leave a Reply

