Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

By way of introductions…

I’m proud to say that I’ve recently persuaded (persuaded might be too strong a word… enticed?) two good friends to enter into the blogging fray and regale us with the pleasures and pitfalls of this whole business of running.

Meet Ali (Run like an Antelope) and Bess (Toenails are for Wusses).

In other news, a dark cloud fell upon my parents’ house last night as we all gathered to watch the long-anticipated finale of the show ER. My sister, a 23-year-old recent nursing school graduate, has been obsessed with this show for as long as I can remember.

To the point where she based her entire homeschooling curriculum around the show.

To the point where she wrote enough letters to be able to visit the show’s closed set. Twice.

To the point where through much of her childhood (and yes, now her adulthood as well) her bedroom walls were covered floor to ceiling with posters, clippings, photos, and fake dollar bills with George Clooney’s head in place of George Washington.

Yes, she is that obsessed.

I haven’t watched the show in years (in no small part a rebellion against my sister’s obsession – and because I really hate it when blood pours out of a woman’s inverted uterus and covers the hospital floor), but I promised her that when the milestone arrived, I would be there.

And so it was that we gathered in my parents’ living room at 8 PM last night, first for the hour-long retrospective and then for the two-hour finale.

I was skeptical at the outset, not knowing any of the new characters or current storylines, not caring much about the old ones. But once we started watching, I was drawn back in. I loved seeing a grown-up Rachel Greene back as a soon-to-be med school student, and the chemistry that still sparked between Dr. Benton and Dr. Corday. I smiled, witnessing the reunions that could have been contrived but actually felt like a natural extension of the storyline. And I was satisfied, as the 11 o’clock hour loomed, hearing the swirls of the ambulance siren and knowing that even if the show was gone, the ER would live to see another day.

Like the finale of Gilmore Girls two years ago (the ER finale, by the way, gave me brief hope that Alexis Bledel might actually move beyond her Rory Gilmore roots), because the ending lacked a finite conclusion, the show can live on in the minds of its fans, who, if they close their eyes, can still imagine the patients rolling in, the romances blossoming and withering, and the blood awash on the linoleum floor.

Okay, I admit. I fell for the finale. And I’m contemplating borrowing my sister’s DVDs and re-watching the show from the beginning.

8 responses to “By way of introductions…

  1. Ali Wish April 3, 2009 at 1:40 pm

    Thanks for the intro! I too watched the ER finale (only the last half hour though) because I haven’t really been a follower of the show. But I also liked how they seemed to wrap it up without wrapping it up, if you know what I mean… it seemed nostalgic and forward looking all at the same time, like, dare I say, the Sex and the City finale? Well done, ER docs!

  2. RunToFinish April 3, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    WOW… I was never an ER fan and don’t think I’ve ever seen a full episode… but then I don’t think I’ve ever been quite so gaga as your sister for anything. geez maybe I need a hobby….no I’ve got too much already 😉

  3. Bess Staebler April 3, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    SO funny, I was going to ask you if I could borrow some of your sister’s ER DVDs! The retrospective made me realize that I’ve forgotten (or never seen) many of the episodes that we actually quite poignant and well done. Maybe I can borrow them after you’ve gotten the chance to reconnect with the docs of County General.

  4. Natalie D April 3, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    Very cute – i remember watching it back in the day but never caught on

  5. The Happy Runner April 3, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    I’ll check out those blogs. Thanks!Mr. Clooney is H.O.T. I don’t blame your sister one bit!

  6. I Run for Fun April 3, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    Wow! I am impressed that she stayed so obsessed about the show for so long! I agree that Clooney is worth all the adoration, though. I will check out both the blogs.

  7. Angela and David Kidd April 4, 2009 at 12:47 am

    After reading your post I kind of wish I’d watched the finale. That is hysterical about your sister.

  8. Denise April 4, 2009 at 11:29 am

    Never watched ER. And your sister is some fan. I don’t think any TV show ever got to me that much. I did really like Six Feet Under, though and thought that was an incredible finale when it ended.

Leave a Reply

