Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

The Bees Knees

I’m not going to mention the first third attempt, the one that ended up all over the kitchen floor this morning before it ever made it into the bread machine.

That one is better left forgetting (though it did confirm that I have been blessed with the clumsiness gene – in case there was any doubt).

But the second third attempt – 3(a), if you will – looks like it was a rousing success!

Wanting to give the whole wheat one last chance, I went straight to the source – the instruction booklet that came with the bread machine itself. There were only a few recipes in there for which I had all of the ingredients in the house, so I settled on the whole wheat cinnamon raisin walnut (minus the raisins and walnuts because that just seemed a little bit too advanced for this novice).

I threw the ingredients together in a hurry before rushing off to teach, but I made sure to follow the recipe closely. This one included lemon juice and molasses, two new additions. The cookbook warned against the perils of too much cinnamon, so I resisted the urge to overspice and measured out the called-for 1 1/4 tsp.

I ran home after a rather flawed discussion about the Federalist Papers to check on my latest endeavor (not to worry – Brent’s on spring break, so he was home puttering around all morning; I didn’t leave the bread baking in an empty house). Of course, the bread takes 4.5 hours and I was only at school for two, so I still had some time to kill (more comment writing for this weekend’s conference and watching the beginning of the Temple/Arizona game… not going so well so far).

The machine just beeped, and when I opened the top, my heart swelled. Not only does the whole house smell out of this world, but the bread actually looks like bread!

Granted, it’s doesn’t look particularly elegant, since it’s shaped like the loaf pan. But in my mind, it’s the most beautiful loaf of bread in the world. The bees knees.

Now I just have to wait patiently for it to cool. I can’t wait for my afternoon snack!

Thanks for all your ideas and advice – I’m looking forward to trying out all of the possibilities!


With peanut butter and peach preserves. Mmm…

11 responses to “The Bees Knees

  1. Denise March 20, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    What pace are you guys planning to run? I’m on a strict pace schedule with the new coach!!

  2. RunToFinish March 20, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    oh man I really want a bread maker!

  3. Natalie D March 20, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    That Looks delicious! glad it worked out!

  4. Angela and David Kidd March 21, 2009 at 1:00 am

    NIce work! The bread machine always intimidates me. I am a corporate attorney. Suffered miserably at law firms but now I’m in house and after 5 years of misery I found a job I like. Wasn’t the bar exam just a horrible experience?

  5. X-Country2 March 21, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    I love home made bread. It makes the house smell fantatic!

  6. Kim March 21, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    Whoo Hooo!! Looks yummy. Now I think I’ll break mine out today. I love the way it makes the house smell.

  7. I Run for Fun March 22, 2009 at 12:52 am

    Woo hoo! You did it. I salute your patience. And the awesome smell of freshly bakes bread…that’s the icing on the cake!

  8. loveofoats.com March 22, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    wow homemade bread, pb, & peach = delish!

  9. Amanda March 23, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    Yum, that bread looks delish!

  10. Kristin March 23, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    Yay! Glad it finally worked out for you. I need to get a bread machine, stat!

  11. Bert March 24, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    Excellent – makes me want to run out and get some fresh yeast!

Leave a Reply

