Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Carpal Guitar Hero Syndrome

Upon realizing that I hadn’t taken a full rest day since before our two-day winter adventure more than a week ago, I decided that I would be avoiding all forms of physical activity today.

It wasn’t so hard, actually; I’m in DC right now for a short research trip. Brent decided to come with me since he’s on spring break, so other than walking the couple miles from the Library of Congress to the Natural History Museum to meet him after I’d finished working, I spent the day sitting in an archive, transcribing the NAACP Philadelphia Branch manuscript collection.

Thrilling, I know.

We went out with Brent’s friend CP for a lovely Vietnamese dinner and then the gentlemen took off for an evening at the climbing gym and I came back to CP’s apartment, where we’re crashing these couple days. It’s oddly refreshing, having a relaxing night to yourself in a strange place. CP’s a bit of a technophile, too, and since we canceled our cable subscription more than six months ago, I indulged in fooling around online and watching reruns of ER and Sex and the City.

When Brent and CP returned, though, my dreams of an inactive 24 hours were hopelessly dashed.

You see, CP has a complete rockband set in his living room, just waiting for people to play with it. This game has never really held any appeal for me; Brent and I were introduced to it over winter break while visiting friends in Western Massachusetts, but having never grown up with video games, I was quite content playing the paparazzi that day, taking photos of everyone and avoiding the instruments at all cost.

Tonight, though, CP wasn’t having any of that. He lives by himself, and relished in the prospect of not one but two new bandmates for the evening. I was assigned to the bass, which I promptly set on EASY, and proceeded to play for a solid hour, my percentage creeping up with each subsequent song, my wrist growing ever more sore with each passing note.

Talk about an overuse injury!


Around midnight, I switched over to the drums. CP took the mic, and Brent moved from guitar to bass. Quite the team we were.

We rocked out for more than two hours before I quit the band. I’m pretty sure I even worked up a little bit of a sweat!

And even as I sit here now, the boys are playing on, trying to reconstitute their chemistry as a dynamic duo. My wrist is still a little bit sore and my head is pounding, but they seem to be going strong.

“Pain?” Brent scoffed. “I eat Guitar Hero pain for breakfast.”

5 responses to “Carpal Guitar Hero Syndrome

  1. I Run for Fun March 17, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    And I thought overuse injuries only happened to runners.Sounds like you are having a great time.

  2. N.D. March 17, 2009 at 5:02 pm

    haha thats so funny!!!

  3. X-Country2 March 17, 2009 at 5:35 pm

    My husband has actually had to put the little guitar down because his wrist was hurting after a full Saturday of playing. Sheesh!

  4. Angela and David Kidd March 17, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    Guitar Hero scares me. I’d be terrible.Enjoy DC!

  5. RunToFinish March 18, 2009 at 1:00 am

    rocccck out, I love the guitar hero and drums I stink at but it’s fun.ok it was annoying when they would say I’m gonna run a marathon, but yes WAYY cool to see them complete the distance and remember how wonderful that feels

Leave a Reply

