Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Recovery

Sometimes, I’m reminded of just how resilient the human body is.

I went through much of yesterday in a haze. My quads were screaming bloody murder and my brain was fuzzy after two chilly days and two restless nights. I ran errands; I laid around on the couch; I watched the first fifteen minutes of The Watchmen with Brent (which was enough for me to realize that I had no real interest in sitting through the rest of the three-hour movie… luckily, we had free passes!); I spun on our lovely stationary bike; and I attended the annual Purim shpiel at my synagogue (Purim is sort of like the Jewish equivalent of Halloween. People dress up and eat fruit-filled cookies in the shape of triangular hats – best bookies ever. It’s the one day every year that my oh-so-serious-oh-so-progressive synagogue makes fun of itself).

It was a quiet, relatively unproductive day. And when I went to bed, I couldn’t imagine waking up the following morning and getting back to my dissertation, back to running, back to real life.

Don’t get me wrong – I was still pretty zonked when I got out of bed today. I spent a couple hours hanging around, eating breakfast and reading and avoiding my dissertation. But then I started moving, and the fog began to lift. I met a friend for a sushi lunch and some much needed life catch-up. I revised a grant proposal for a workshop I’m putting together for September. I finished the laundry. And, with quads that have graduated from screams to quiet murmurs, I’m now getting ready to go meet a friend for an easy five-mile run.

Injuries aside, this body of mine is a wonderful thing. Kind of makes me wonder whether I should keep punishing it so… I say as I look up this year’s ultramarathon schedule.

7 responses to “Recovery

  1. Denise March 10, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    It is amazing what our body can take and bounce back from. Glad to hear your quads are feeling better. Nothing worse than not being able to sit down to go to the bathroom without pain!

  2. N.D. March 10, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    Oh you treat your body well! It’s fine ! think of childbirth. Pretty cool how resilient it is. Hope the run went well!

  3. RunToFinish March 10, 2009 at 11:53 pm

    wow 5 miles…i’m so envious. the body is pretty darn amazing!! it took me a long time to figure out how to treat it right

  4. I Run for Fun March 11, 2009 at 3:14 am

    Great going! Resilient or not, running 5 miles today after what your body went thro’ just 2 days ago, is quite an accomplishment!

  5. Kristin March 11, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    Now you have me re-thinking the Bourbon Chase! The Wild West Relay also sounds awesome! Some of my friends were worried about running an inaugural race…ugh, now I don’t know.

  6. X-Country2 March 11, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    The human body is pretty crazy. Makes me appreciate it more and more.

  7. Caitlin at Healthy Tipping Point March 12, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    hey abby! we’re going to go check out a planet fitness gym near our house since its wayyyy cheaper. glad you are enjoying the great outdoors and thanks for reading!!

Leave a Reply

