Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Runner’s Amnesia

I read an article recently that compared a runner’s post-marathon malaise to a mother’s post-partum depression.

An interesting connection, though one that I haven’t yet had the chance to experience personally. But after the past couple days, I’d be willing to wager the existence of a second running-pregnancy relationship: amnesia.

I’ve been told many times that the pains of labor quickly fade from a mother’s consciousness in order to preserve the human race. If women could recall the actual feelings of giving birth, they’d never want to do it again and our very existence would be in danger.

I think that runners, too, experience a degree of this selective memory. No matter how much pain a particular race or run might bring about, we’re always ready for more. What grinding IT band over the last two miles of the Philadelphia Distance Run a couple years ago? The somersaulting stomach at hour 11 of the 2008 Longest Day adventure race? I have no idea what you’re talking about…

I suspect that this is why, 30 hours after the shooting pains of my Saturday morning run, I was chomping at the bit for next weekend’s snowshoeing race, and relishing in the thought of the following week’s 18-miler.

It’s about convenient forgetfulness. It’s about survival of the species.

And I wouldn’t want it any other way.

On another note, I recently came someone putting together a Blogger’s Cookbook. Over the past several months, I’ve made it a goal to try out at least one new recipe a week (some weeks having seen more success than others), and this seemed like a great place for inspiration. All you have to do is contribute a handful of recipes, and the cookbook is yours! I submitted my five, including my dad’s famous pancake recipe (recently adapted to become pumpkin chocolate chip bites of wonderment). You should, too!

6 responses to “Runner’s Amnesia

  1. aron March 2, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    sooo true! it hurts to run a marathon?? what are you talking about? 🙂

  2. Kim March 2, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    Amen Abby!It’s all about survival.

  3. Nobel4Lit March 2, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    Definitely had this both times I did a marathon… wanted to do it again as soon as I got my breath back after crossing the finish line. doubt birthing would be the same, but I wouldn’t know.I am also inspired by the tracking of the progress of your dissertation. I’m working on my MS thesis right now and am very very worried about dissertation.

  4. RunToFinish March 2, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    I don’t know I’m still of the belief that pushing a watermelon out your…well that has to be worse than running a marathon.. I mean I can train for the marathon!

  5. Denise March 2, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    So true. Immediately after crossing the marathon finish line, I thought I was done. Been there, done that, didn’t need to go through that pain again. But later that night, I was looking on line for another one to sign up for.

  6. Natalie D March 3, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    that’s very cool about the cookbook! Oh, I don’t forget the pains of getting this little guy out… but it was just worth it in the end. I think that is what happens.

Leave a Reply

