Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

To Gym, or Not To Gym…

It’s that time of year again…

My gym membership expires next week, and I’m on the fence about whether to renew.

What do I do at the gym?

I run. This I can do outside. For free. And without the injuries that the treadmill seems to be causing.

I bike. See above. Minus the injury.

I use the elliptical when I’m injured and can’t run. But I’m hoping that’s not going to be a regular occurence.

I lift (on occasion) and I do abs pretty regularly. But both of these I can do just as effectively as home.

When I was training for the ironman, I did swim in the pool there, but I complained about it every time I went. The pool is 20 yards. And two lanes. And in the basement. And 90 degrees. And they play spa music. Yeesh.

Plus, I have no intention of training for another ironman any time soon.

There are plenty of classes at the gym, but I haven’t been wowed by any that I’ve attended. And if I weren’t paying the monthly gym fee, I’d be much more likely to dole out the $10 for a class at a yoga studio. Or for that matter, spend the $5 to go to a masters swim practice.

Oh, and I have a gym at school that I can use, free of charge. I took advantage of this my first year of law school, and then stopped. Too much hassle.

All of this points to my cancelling the membership. And yet every year, I make this exact list, and every year I renew.

What to do, what to do…

Thoughts?

4 responses to “To Gym, or Not To Gym…

  1. Denise February 14, 2009 at 12:00 am

    Free gym at school?? Warm weather on it’s way…I say hold off. If you miss it, sign back up when it starts to get cold.

  2. RunToFinish February 14, 2009 at 12:40 am

    seriously a free gym.. oh baby I’d already be counting the ways to take a trip with my saved gym fees. :)I had this debate too, my big problem being that I don’t like to bike outside, cars scare me…but I’m finding all kinds of new ways to cross train. I may get a membership next year if I want to start swimming

  3. aron February 14, 2009 at 2:14 am

    i just cancelled my membership and bought some free weights for home. i was never going anyways AND we have a treadmill at home if i HAVE to run on one. and if i do have to go, its cheaper to just pay the guest fee than to pay my membership.

  4. RunToFinish February 15, 2009 at 1:39 am

    Hey there, on the Garmin I have the new 405 which i love because it’s about the size of a watch. i got the HR monitor with it, but have only used it occassionally..so i maybe could have saved $50. since i held out on getting one for eons, i have to say i do like having it now

Leave a Reply

