Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Banished


This week held the long-anticipated 7 on the 7th. Thanks to the amazing organizing efforts of Amanda over at Run to Finish, runners all over the country started their watches and tested their speeds for this virtual race.

Though technically the event called for the race to take place on February 7, Amanda expanded it to anytime during the week of the 7th. So, with that in mind, I headed to the gym on Thursday morning for a date with the treadmill. Don’t get me wrong – it’s not that I necessarily enjoy running inside over pounding the pavement. But it’s convenient. And mindless. And when the roads are covered with snow and ice, it offers a nice alternative.

I set a 1:00:00 goal for the race and set off, and felt strong as I ticked off the miles. I cleared the virtual tape in a time of 58:27 (wondering whether it would have been quicker or slower outside), and then went to walk for a few minutes to cool down. It was at about that moment when my hip started acting up again, with more gusto than usual.

I went to the PT, who worked miracles as usual. And during the hour+ of therapy, he and the other therapists split their time between making fun of me and chastising me for my recent treadmill escapades (not to worry – my PT happens to be a friend and racing partner of mine, so it was all in good fun). I hadn’t realized it, but last week I ran close to 30 miles on that silly machine. This week’s seven was just icing on the cake.

So, until further notice, I am hereby banished from running at the gym. Not completely, of course. The treadmill is fair game for speed work or weather-induced emergencies. But otherwise, it has been put on the backburner. The New Years Resolutioners can have it. Me? I’m heading back out to the trails.


Over the past three days, I’ve enjoyed one morning of snowshoeing and two glorious trail runs, traipsing up and down the sloppy peaks and valleys. Yesterday, within a mile of setting out, I had stripped down to a t-shirt and spent an hour rocking out to the likes of Bob Dylan, Tom Petty, Janis Joplin, and the Byrds. And after the first half block, I didn’t feel any twinges in my leg at all.

The snow has started to melt, and in its place I’ve found patches of ice atop mounds of mud. It’s a slip slidin’ good time.


There are more than fifty miles of trails within a stone’s throw of my house, and this spring, I intend to become intimately acquainted with all of them.

10 responses to “Banished

  1. N.D. February 8, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    Great job on the 7 on 7! good thought about the trails and glad it is going well. Geez I missed the race !

  2. Denise February 8, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    We live in the best area, don’t we!?!Great job on the run!

  3. aron February 9, 2009 at 1:42 am

    great job on the 7!!!

  4. X-Country2 February 9, 2009 at 3:02 am

    Great 7 on 7 run!I’d love to have all those trails right near me. Looks like an amazing place to run.

  5. RunToFinish February 9, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    last year I was awful about always using the treadmilll and I think that I then go hurt going outside. now i’m trying to be pretty equal with time and I think it’s working. way to go on the time!!

  6. Marci February 9, 2009 at 11:13 pm

    Great job on your 7 on the 7th!! I ran my on an indoor track and wondered too if it would be faster or slower outside, but either way you covered the distance!

  7. Denise February 12, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    Hey, what time would you want to meet? I just scheduled a doc appt for my knee but they had a morning appt that I can try to switch to instead. What pace do you like to run? I can’t be too fast on Friday because I have a run on Saturday morning. Are you running Frostbite?

  8. Denise February 12, 2009 at 11:10 pm

    Ok, let me see if I can switch my appt to the morning. I’ll call tomorrow when the office is open. If we meet up, as soon as you’re able to after work, the better for me. I have to hand out race packets for the race.

  9. Denise February 13, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    Hey, I switched my doc appt to 9:30am so I could meet up if you’re still interested.

  10. Denise February 13, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    Sounds great!! 1pm at Wissahickon…where the path starts at Northwestern Ave??

Leave a Reply

