Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Steps and Missteps

Excitement

1. On track with my dissertation. After reaching my January writing goals a week early, I found myself stuck and spinning my wheels. A few days of busy work led to a week of inertia. But I’ve found my way back to it and have spent the last handful of days moving forward. Finally!

2. Speeding up. Last week’s interval and tempo workouts gave way to a quick 12-miler over the weekend and an even quicker 7-miler yesterday. My times are a’dropping. Now I just have to figure out how to sustain those faster paces for 26.2 miles.

3. Riding hard. I’ve discovered that pushing the limits on the bike at the gym is actually fairly well correlated to riding outside. Except without the bumps and bruises that come with clipless pedals and rocky terrain. But I’ll get some of those this weekend when the temperatures rise and I hit the trails again.

4. One month out from the Snowgaine. The course was cut a little shorter this year (7-hour days instead of 8), but I’m stoked for two days of romping around in my snowshoes, and the potential for a little bit of cross-country skiing as well. Brent and I are headed north next weekend to test our ski legs. Here’s hoping that all limbs remain in tact for the drive home!

5. I think my students are just great. I love teaching (TA-ing), and can’t wait to have my own class one of these days…

Apprehension

1. This week I started thinking about the prospect of undertaking a three-day adventure race this summer. Originally, my hope was to successfully complete my first 24-hour race, but now there’s talk of GOALS fielding two teams for the Untamed New England, an A team that would vie for a slot in the adventure racing world championships and a B team that would serve as support. I’m certainly not qualified for the A team, but with a lot more prep and a little bit of mental wrangling, I might be able to serve as the requisite lady for the B squad. Still wrapping my head around the possibility.

Frustration

1. A minor setback on the injury front. My seven miler felt great yesterday, until I stopped running, at which point I experienced an explosion of pain the likes of which I haven’t felt since I sprained my knee in the middle of the Mardi Gras marathon two years ago. I hobbled home and went to the PT, and after more than an hour of therapy, stim, ultrasound, and ice, he told me that he didn’t think I’d done any longterm damage. Seems like I tweaked the tear that’s been healing over the past few weeks. No running today.

2. I can’t seem to figure out how to balance fun writing and dissertation writing. The weeks that I’m stuck on the academic front, I spend lots of time conjuring stories and thinking in pictures. When I’m moving forward with my chapters, I can’t seem to write something entertaining worth bupkis (take this blog post, for instance). I know that there are worse things than productivity vs. creativity, but they’re each important to me. I want to find a way to do both.

3 responses to “Steps and Missteps

  1. Denise February 6, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    I might have to look into some of these adventure races…Did you see ND had a boy?

  2. Denise February 6, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    I checked out that link you sent me. Yea, I’m scared of bikes. Guess adventure racing is out for me, hunh?I definitely think a visit to the honkeytonk bar is in order!! I need to redeem myself. It was a horrific display of bull riding. But fun!!

  3. RunToFinish February 6, 2009 at 11:20 pm

    ok lots for me to respond to…should i? yes cause I can and I’m walking on the treadmill with my surfshelf so I don’t feel bad about it.way to go on making progress with the writing and for pushing yourself with new goals. I think the idea of an adventure race is amazing and once i get the confidence i might try one.I hope the knee just needs a little more easy running to recover, I reaaaallly know how frustrating that can be.Balancing anything in life is a struggle, but hello you’re a runner so I know you’ve got the skills to push yourself and find balance. how was that? a complete randome gobbledygook that you could have done without..oh well it’s friday!

Leave a Reply

