Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Barackalypse

var gaJsHost = ((“https:” == document.location.protocol) ? “https://ssl.” : “http://www.”);
document.write(unescape(“%3Cscript src='” + gaJsHost + “google-analytics.com/ga.js’ type=’text/javascript’%3E%3C/script%3E”));

try {
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(“UA-7221662-1”);
pageTracker._trackPageview();
} catch(err) {}
I’ll admit it – I’ve been Obamafied for several years now. The minute he finished his speech at the 2004 Democratic Convention, I called my mom and declared, “We just saw the first black president of the United States.”

I was on board from the moment he announced his candidacy, and while I wasn’t following blindly (I questioned him plenty of times), I was pretty convinced that he was the person to lead the nation forward from the mess of the last eight years.

My reasons were simple: Barack Obama didn’t spend his time telling us how he could effect change. Sure, that was there, and it had to be. But more than any presidential candidate since Robert F. Kennedy, he empowered people to believe that they could effect change, that they could rise up and come together and make the world a better place.

In Obama’s vision, we truly are the agents of change.


Today I had the opportunity to watch the inauguration at a local concert venue with a dozen friends and a few hundred fellow Philadelphians. I’d thought about heading down to DC for the day, had even secured a ticket on a bus ride down, but ultimately wussed out, the prospect of cold and crowds a bit too overwhelming.

Bearing witness with my friends turned out to be the perfect alternative, and my own tears flowed freely during Obama’s address, the result as much of his powerful invocation as the immensity of the moment sinking in.

I know that we’re in a precarious state right now. I know that there’s a lot of work to do and that for change to come, we all need to work together. I’m under no illusion that this will be easy, nor that it will come quickly.

But I truly believe that this is our time. This is our moment. This is our moon landing, our Gettysburg Address, our ‘tear down this wall.’ Trite as it might sound, this is our chance to remake our country in the image of justice, of freedom, of equality; this is our opportunity to reclaim the historic mission of the nation, to work toward reconstituting the meaning of the democratic ideal.

As Obama said today, “the time has come to reaffirm our enduring spirit; to choose our better history; to carry forward that precious gift, that noble idea, passed on from generation to generation, the… promise that all are equal, all are free, and all deserve a chance to pursue their full measure of happiness.”

I am fired up!

Yes we did. Yes we can.

6 responses to “Barackalypse

  1. RunToFinish January 20, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    good call. my boss let us all watch it together in the back and that was pretty awesome

  2. Natalie D January 21, 2009 at 1:03 am

    It’s a very exciting time!!

  3. The Happy Runner January 21, 2009 at 1:47 am

    I’m all fired up, too! I watched it with my son and that was pretty special.

  4. Denise January 25, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    I run with the Ambler Area Running Club (www.aarclub.com) and for my longer runs,I sometimes join Shawmont Running club (that’s a free club).

  5. Denise January 25, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    Oh, and bummer about 20in24. 😦

Leave a Reply

