Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

My Shit List

Until tonight, I didn’t even know that I had a shit list.

Then, the man of the house (not, not Brent… Lupine is the elder statesman at 523; at 40 in dog years, he has nearly a decade and a half on us) decided that he was sick of the puppy. Lupine figured out that the best escape route was being blocked my lower half. Not to be deterred, he picked up his paw and rammed it into my leg, appropriately propped up on the coffee table as I checked my email. My shin went flying in one direction and my knee went in the other.

And thus my shit list was born.

****

I’ve been experiencing a bit of post-Ironman malaise; without a real race to look toward and hours upon hours of training each week. I got sucked into the dissertation doldrums, and am only now making my way out. I think the reemergence may have to do with the sprint adventure race I’m competing in next weekend (as the Glorious Gals of GOALS, no less). Or it may be due to the fact that I’m getting back into some semblance of a weekly routine, juggling writing and researching and teaching, and fitting in about 25 miles of running and 30-40 miles of biking to preserve my sanity. Or maybe it’s just that the race is a month behind me and I’ve decided to get over it.

I wasn’t sure whether I was going to keep up with this blog. Once our summer adventures were over, there didn’t seem to be much to write about. But then Brent went and started his own blog. So I decided to give it another shot. We’ll see what comes of it.

I promise, very few of my musings will concern the state of affairs among the dogs of the house.

One response to “My Shit List

  1. N.D. October 10, 2008 at 12:30 am

    Good luck in the upcoming adventure race! Sorry to hear about the s list!

Leave a Reply

